Skip to content

From my last plugged-in hour in Tacoma…

September 23, 2010
tags: ,

Friends Redwood, Dave, Noble, Winsome, Mike, Craig, Jordan, Thomas, Tim, Seth, and Jim, and husband Vic, loaded the entire material representation of our lives in our soon-to-be-former house into the 26-foot U-Haul today, and Jane and Jennifer helped with lovely scones and fellowship. The guys and Winsome completed the loading by the end of the morning, and we sat around eating pizza — well, I ate a tapioca bread turkey sandwich — having shown Corey, my faithful realtor who came by, what a church family looks like. He remarked with apparent amazement at the number of people helping us, and their obvious ease together. “Yeah,” I replied, “You’ll be amazed, but they love us.” Yeah, they do. I boast in the Lord how we festive sinners manifest God’s love.

Seth and Autumn will drive the U-Haul tomorrow, towing Vic’s truck, while we drive my car. I will miss our friends so much, especially after just getting to know some of their kids; and at the same time, I look forward to cresting the leeward side of the Cascade and entering the rain shadow. It was so cold and rainy as we loaded for departure from Tacoma… and a warm church family also awaits us on the other side.

Well, this is not ergo at all. My computer is set up on a nightstand not at all designed for this purpose, and I am leaning forward into the mic at a painful angle in a slumpy lawnchair. My next post will be an announcement of the link to my new blog, as soon as time and technology permit. I look forward to chronicling the next phase of the journey.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Heidi permalink
    September 24, 2010 5:21 am

    Praying for you especially today, Lauren.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.