Skip to content

Springs

September 11, 2006

Our springs are all in thee. Medley, Gadsby Hymn #176

Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee. Trusteth ye in the LORD for ever: for in the LORD JEHOVAH is everlasting strength. Is 26:3,4

The way of the just is uprightness: thou, most upright, dost weigh the path of the just.Is 26:7

LORD, thou wilt ordain peace for us: for thou also hast wrought all our works in us. Is 26:12

I am savoring the idea that Christ is all my springs. He is the wellspring of faith, of peace with God, of hope, of understanding, of ideas, forms, structures of thought; enjoyment of God through fellowship, through music, nature, the sense of awe of space through a telescope…the springs that connect God’s people to him are too innumerable, but I seem moved to try to appreciate as many as I can as singularly as I can right now. I think of another spring, the Brook Kidron, likely spring-fed but probably insignificant, so why is it mentioned…perhaps as a demarcation in the lives both of Our Lord and his Anointed King David, the man after his own heart: both men crossed the Brook Kidron at a time when they were nearer to the ends of their lives than to the beginnings. Springs are small and gentle, they feed larger waters, they don’t propel anything much themselves. Someone who didn’t get through college geology on Classic Comics is likely to come in at this point and let me know how springs really work; that’s all right–I’ll stand corrected. Geologically, I think of springs as the power behind the power. I do remember from college geology that they did not create the Grand Canyon.

Grand Canyon…I met a friend there, one who became a friend for life over 30 years ago. Today is her 93rd birthday. Happy birthday, Joan. It saddens me that my dear old friend remains without the springs of peace, that her works remain undone. The demand of our just Lord to follow his perfect law perfectly or else simply believe that he himself completed the covenant of works to perfection on our behalf was before her every day of her life, but I do not think she heeded it, for the spring did not feed her soul. I think she knows her work is unfinished, and she is bitter, angry, silent. I had a long talk with her daughter-in-law, also my friend of many years, and that talk was not a happy one. I’ve believed her a true sister in Christ, and now I see that uprightness is less important to her than happiness. After more than three decades of loving duty and submission to her husband, that wretched other gospel of happiness, that entitlement so readily validated by the heathens who rage and imagine such a vain thing (Ps 2:1), has gotten a grip on her heart.

Vindicate us from our vain imaginings, O Lord, and keep us in the path of the just. Let the springs that flow from you never go dry or divert from our souls. “Remove far from me vanity and lies….Lest I be full and deny thee, and say, Who is the LORD?” (Pr 30:8-9) Amen.

2 comments:

Victorbravo said…
There used to be a spring in the woods near where I spent part of my childhood. Pure and clear water bubbled up from sand and trickled down a hill to a stream. Being a little reprobate, I always stuck a stick into it to stir up the mud. Yet, no matter how often I did that, it would flow clear again in a minute or two.Just one of God’s concrete examples placed in his world. The river of life remains pure and consistent, despite our fallen efforts to dirty it.

May God give us the urge to drink instead of pollute.

10:48 AM  
HZ said…
This is beautiful too, Lauren
5:39
Comments are closed.