Skip to content

He Makes All Things New

September 18, 2006

Behold, I make all things new. Re 21:5

It is of the LORD’s mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness. La 3:22-23

For a long time I had a favorite verse; “Behold, I make all things new.” In a red-letter edition, these words appear in black, and I wondered why. Was it God the Father, or was it Christ in his glorified state who spoke them? I settled at some point on the latter, but there remained the problem that when the risen Lord stops Saul on the road to Damascus, his words appear in red. One more reason to keep to a black-letter edition and not get caught up in these things, I suppose, but my childhood KJV has the words of Christ in cherry red and I still use it sometimes. I favored, and still do favor, the verse for many reasons. It is both a promise and the manifestation of the promise. He makes, present active indicative, all things new and he has made all things new from the beginning to the end and for all time, from the first creation to the new creation, he makes all things new. Everything he makes is new. I was new when he made me and I was new when he regenerated me. He makes all things new as he always has and always will. He shows us new mercies every morning as well, because as continually sinning creatures who groan under the burden of our own and all sin, we require them. So I was pondering some of these things on the way home from church yesterday, when, Behold: “Come and See God is Doing a New Thing!” beckoned down the road on the PCUSA marquee. I groaned.

I will not call that church’s office to ask what, exactly new thing God is doing, because my motives would be beneath the mere task of finding out. Instead, I imagine the worst. I have received numerous invitations to womens’ retreats for some reason–I think they must go out to voters’ lists or something–but the invitations always carry the same theme: God is doing big things here: Bible studies, pedicures, prizes, and more.

So many activities attributed to God, so little glory. “To give glory to God is to reckon God to be what he is and to rely upon his power and faithfulness,” says John Murray in his Commentary on The Epistle to the Romans, at 4:19. I am so blessed to be in a church that gives glory to God, week after week, sermon after sermon. No ladies’ Bible studies, no pedicures, no prizes…just glory to God, and that’s the likeminded understanding of what we’re all doing there.

***
By the way, the Cat is eating better. It seems his anorexic episode was a ploy to exact five handfeedings of tuna a day and I’ve caved, out of pity for my beast. I know my pastor fears for my Protestantism, but he has set me straight on the Biblical duty of regarding the life of my beast, per Pr 12:10. No more Cat-holic indulgences for him.

3 comments:

Mike Pitzler said…
Yes. We groan. Our dogs are groaning now as we get ready to go for a walk. They eagerly anticipate what to them is the dog equivalent of a trip to Disneyland.We know that all creation groans for the revealing of the Sons of God. They find it difficult to articulate their groanings, but so do we, and the Holy Spirit (not a priest) intercedes for us.

The dogs know what they’re in for, because they’ve been there, but our eager expectation is not as well known, though we have some already given:

Ephesians 1:13-14 ..ye were sealed with the Holy Spirit of promise, 14 which is an earnest of our inheritance..

11:06 AM  
Victorbravo said…
It seems all the fallen creatures seek indulgences. Hand feeding, pedicures, prizes. Anything to glorify us.They all indeed are sorry substitutes for the Romans 8:21 liberty of the glory of the children of God.

11:17 AM  
HZ said…
Lauren, I laughed- I cried. Well I mostly laughed, about the red letter KJV and then the new creation taking the form of pedicures.I’m so glad your cat is better. And your first paragraph, about God making all things new in creation and recreation was very beautiful. Thank you.

6:43 AM  
Comments are closed.