Skip to content

Some thoughts from the road

February 20, 2007

I was feeling well enough Monday to go on a road trip to the northern reaches of King County: over an hour each way. My husband and I had never been to Duval, and decided this was a destination we wanted to take in on his President’s Day holiday.

We stopped in Redmond and looked around the huge Whole Foods Market, a high-end health food store that sells everything from organic kumquats to hemp yoga wear, but no loose tea. Across the parking lot is a Peet’s Coffee and Tea, where I was able to purchase a tin of Masala Chai, which, it turns out, is very good.

The view of the countryside outside Duval from the top of Novelty Hill Road was very pretty: pasture land and a river. It’s actually a flood plain, as hundreds of uprooted trees grimly testify. But agrarian values are in evidence.

Duval is a town of about 5,300 people, perhaps the best known of whom is KVI host Kirby Wilbur. We didn’t see him. The town boasts a quaint downtown a little too much like Port Townsend to be convincingly “red” country, but there is a feed store. We thought how wonderful it would be to live in a town with a feed store right downtown, and not have to drive through south Tacoma for layer feed for our chickens. Shuddering at the prospect of the Tacoma run, we bought a bag in Duval. The kids working there were very friendly, and I was charmed by the fat dock-tailed tuxedo cat in residence.

We stopped at the town’s one used bookstore and found nothing of interest. There was an RSV Bible with a black oilcloth cover–my favorite binding–and nice print and fine paper, in mint condition, for $4.00. But I don’t care to read the RSV and so resisted the bargain.

We completed our Duval circuit and decided to check out Woodinville on the way home. Our diabetic cat is on a schedule, and when the cat’s diabetic, the whole family is diabetic.

In Woodinville, we stopped at Molbak’s Nursery and bought eight primrose plants in different colors for $0.99 apiece to bring early color to our greenhouse.  Given sufficient ambition, some could wind up in our window box.

I brought a knitting project to work on in the car, a practice exercise before tackling a vest with a complicated stitch pattern that Jane is going to send me. I thought it would be a good idea to brush up on my counting and attention skills, so I made a cotton dishcloth with a pattern of little houses across it. It was coming along quite nicely until I lost my instructions. I lost track of the fact that they were in my lap when I got out of the car at Molbak’s, and when I got back to the car, I realized they were gone. My husband looked around the parking lot and under cars and pronounced them gone, so they were gone. But I was fortunate to find the pattern online when I got home and finished the little masterpiece in the evening. It turned out well, the little houses in a row: sort of a knitted vignette of Renton.

By the way, I am sleeping better since having the thought that Hillary Clinton probably cannot win the Presidential election. She is too much an advocate; she is an advocate primarily for women and children. Americans don’t want an advocate for President; they want a commando executive. There simply are not enough angry white women to elect her. I think liberal men will decide Giuliani isn’t so bad. But if she were elected, she would be the first woman in modern politics to recall the lives of two Biblical women: Jezebel and Athaliah.

But I don’t think of these things when I’m concentrating on knitting cunning little houses across useful cotton dishcloths. I need to buy some more cotton yarn.

3 Comments
  1. February 20, 2007 9:01 am

    I don’t think there is evidence that any of those three women enjoyed knitting. Probably Giuliani does, but I don’t know. There is some sort of commentary there, I’m sure.

    I think you’re right about the advocate part. Just don’t let DNC headquarters hear of your analysis.

  2. February 20, 2007 9:15 am

    The organization to which you refer might actually think that the ladies I cited were actually quite effectual.

  3. McBlog permalink
    February 20, 2007 12:38 pm

    Primroses on the brain. I’m working on Child’s Ballad # 11 The Cruel Brother…..”as the primrose spreads so sweetly.”

Comments are closed.