Skip to content

Madainn mhath, and here is my Scottish oat cakes recipe

May 18, 2007

oatcakes.jpg Madainn mhath being “good morning” in Scottish Gaelic, here is my promised recipe that will surely brighten yours. These oat cakes are an excellent alternative for anyone intimidated by the prospect of making scones.

Scottish Oat Cakes

1 cup flour
1 TBS sugar
1 tsp cardamom (It is so much better freshly pulverized that I cannot conscionably say “ground.” The pulverized seeds from 12 seedpods yield a zingy amount.)
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
2 cups rolled oats (quick or old fashioned both work)
1/2 cup softened butter
1/2 cup milk
1 tsp cider vinegar

Preheat oven to 400° F. Combine dry ingredients; cut in butter; add liquids and mix until you have dough. Roll your marvelous ball of dough out on a floured surface to about 1/4″ thick. Place dough on greased baking sheet. Cut into squares; a pizza cutter is splendid for this task. I should be in awe of anyone who could roll dough into a square. I just pinch in the sides a little and settle for squares that look like Texas, Montana, Michigan, and Vermont. Very few come out looking like neat little Colorados and Kansases. Bake at 400° F for 15 minutes or until lightly golden brown.

Bu toigh leam bracaist a ghabhail. A bheil an t-acras ort? Slàinte mhòr agad!”
(To save Brooke the trouble of googling this: “I would like to have breakfast. Are you hungry? Great health to you!”)
gardenview.jpg

One Comment
  1. kamelda permalink
    May 21, 2007 2:16 pm

    Oh how perfect. I shall be saying Bu toigh! all day. It’s the only thing I can pronounce.

    Your pictures are lovely, Lauren. I shall have to make Panama shaped Oat cakes soon….

Comments are closed.