Skip to content

It’s my birthday, I’ll blog if I want to

June 2, 2007

smallheadandball.jpgThe only birthdays actually celebrated in the Bible are Pharaoh’s and Herod’s, so we don’t want to go too overboard here.

When I was a child, a Saturday birthday was special because I could have a birthday party on my actual birthday. I’m still in the habit of thinking a Saturday birthday is special. My last Saturday birthday was in 2001. I can’t remember what we did, but it is likely that we took a road trip. Our Cat wasn’t yet diabetic, and we could actually be gone for an entire day.

My birthday is actually the same day as our Cat’s, according to his impeccable adoption papers. He was a feral four-week-old foundling: his rescuers gauged his age from his teeth, so the precise date is uncertain, but we think we have the same birthday. We’re very much alike.

My husband will be in Seattle most of the day taking a final exam in Tax Procedures: yes, this on a Saturday and his wife’s birthday. He wanted to take Monday off to celebrate properly, but I said not to think of it: I’ll have another Saturday birthday, boosted by two leap years, in 2012. Five years isn’t very long; this time I had to wait six. My father died a week before he would have reached the birthday that I will attain, God willing, in 2012.

So teach us to number our days, that we may apply our hearts unto wisdom. (Psalm 90:12)

I have mad celebrating to undertake as Vic writes his tax final. When he returns home, we have that Keg dinner coupon burning its annual hole in my bag. My friend Bobbie is taking me to tea this afternoon. The amazing wooden cat Jane made perches on the mantle. Heidi has sent a present of wonderful books, and I shall relish reading the biography and meditations of Susannah Spurgeon, while drinking tea from a festive hand-painted polka-dotted mug. The beautiful Arizona picture book is particularly wonderful: it sweeps me back to the time I lived at Grand Canyon. There I held a glorious job selling Japanese curios to Japanese tourists.

I pray that God might kindly add life to my years as well as years to my life.

O spare me, that I may recover strength, before I go hence, and be no more. (Psalm 39:13)

God in his bountiful mercy has provided me with the best people in my life that anyone could possibly have. Really.

Since taking up daily practice of Y-Dan (inspired by Heidi) and the exercise ball three months ago, I have had only one migraine, and that came only a few days after I started Y-Dan. I simply let myself become too hungry and ignored the warnings. After 14 months of daily all-day migraines and several more months of frequent ones, this is a blessing beyond what I thought was possible. Fibromyalgia and arthritis are practically tractable without migraines. Life added to years already is a reality.

Our garden is full of golden poppies and blue flax flowers, and rhodies of every kind of pink still bloom in concert with pink wygelias and peach-tipped red roses. All this thrives through none of my own efforts this year, but through those of my husband who loves me enough to keep up the flowers for me to enjoy, and even plant more, when I simply can’t take care of them.

The only regret touching the day is that my lost orchid wildflower sock did not make the shuttle back from Lost Sock Planet in time for my birthday.  Extradition negotiations continue.

2 Comments
  1. June 2, 2007 7:22 am

    Happy Birthday! It is a lovely day for quiet celebration. May God continue to keep you and us.

  2. Laura permalink
    June 2, 2007 3:40 pm

    Happy birthday, Lauren. I’m glad you blogged. I have added my prayers to the Psalmist’s/yours.

Comments are closed.