Skip to content

A benign chaos

July 14, 2007

All of the contents of our kitchen shelves and cupboards have been relocated to all available surfaces in the dining and living rooms. This has offended my Cat’s sense of order immensely; he is stationed atop his tower in my study, fur mass expanded to full capacity. I know he is seething but I do not know what he is plotting. He has a vengeful nature, and mortification is not encoded in his DNA.

I will soon be ensconced in the happy sound of my husband’s electric sander. He is going to sand the cupboards and remove the vintage blond varnish and its drip marks from their surfaces. On another day, the cupboards will receive a new finish. When the sanding begins, I will retreat to the shelter of Borg-like hardware and don shooting range hearing protectors. They are huge and blue and they hurt my head. But the prospect of a new white finish on the cupboards is worth every kind of small suffering and inconvenience.

Evacuating the cupboards was easier than I expected. “While everything’s out, why don’t we just move?” I suggested. I nodded my head affirmatively as I said this to swing his answer. But he said, “Now is not The Time.” The Time is an indeterminate determinative variable in every marriage.

But having everything out of place is kind of exciting. It’s a change of scene. It is blissful compared with what is going on without. The beautiful child who was snatched and murdered on the fourth of July lived in my zip code. People who imagine themselves terribly powerful are beating their dully tuned war drums. Sirens pierce the air with fair regularity. It seems so peaceful just to have the contents of one’s kitchen stacked neatly around the living room.

3 Comments
  1. July 14, 2007 2:05 pm

    The Cat seems quite happy now. He thinks cupboards are more interesting when there are no doors.

    As far as he is concerned, Now is Always the Time.

  2. July 14, 2007 2:06 pm

    Yes, he is transfixed at the existential phase of his existence.

  3. July 15, 2007 12:12 pm

    I just reach for the squirt gun. He’ll come back to Earth! (smiley)

Comments are closed.