Skip to content

Hello, is this the deity of whom I am drinking?

July 31, 2007

When Heidi asked me whether I felt it was any sort of theological compromise to be drinking Rama, Krishna, Vana, and Brahmi, I gave her the only response I was qualified to give: “Hey, whatever works.” Now, evidently due to my good friend’s compact packing logistics, I am heir to this holy herbal tea. And yes, the ingredients are Hindu deities, or perhaps some of their close associates, most of which belong to the basil family, and one of which is a pennywort.

The tea is called Tulsi Gotu Kola. The ingredients are listed as:

Organic Rama Tulsi (Ocimum sanctum)
Organic Krishna Tulsi (Ocimum sanctum)
Organic Vana Tulsi (Ocimum gratissimum)
Organic Brahmi (Centella asiatica)

One can readily see that Rama and Krishna co-occupy the domain of holy basil, while the avatar of Vana represents the most holy gracious basil. Brahmi is a mere Asian pennywort.

What the tea is good for is also listed helpfully on the green box:

Promotes calmness & clarity
Improves metabolism
Strengthens immunity
Boosts stamina
Rich in natural Antioxidants
Powerful Adaptogen
Natural Immuno-Modulator

I have no doubt I am in particular need of adaptogens, because I don’t adapt well to anything. I’m very spontaneous as long as nothing upsets my routine. And nearly everyone probably needs immune modulation from time to time.

(The tea is actually very good with a healthy swig of coconut syrup. I feel very well looked after.)

9 Comments
  1. July 31, 2007 10:33 am

    You are right. I had to look up “Tulsi” to find that it is a form of basil. I wondered if its etymology had something to do with Oklahoma, but couldn’t find anything.

    1 Corinthinans 8 tells me that you are on fairly safe ground.

    I don’t know how effective adaptogens are, but I think the adoptogenic principle is encouraged:

    “And unto the Jews I became as a Jew, that I might gain the Jews; to them that are under the law, as under the law, that I might gain them that are under the law; To them that are without law, as without law, (being not without law to God, but under the law to Christ,) that I might gain them that are without law. To the weak became I as weak, that I might gain the weak: I am made all things to all men, that I might by all means save some.” –1Co 9:20-22

  2. July 31, 2007 11:50 am

    On Hindu presuppositions, I am not sure how these herbs are distinguishable. Is not all this part of the maya? Is not immuno-modulation?

  3. July 31, 2007 2:49 pm

    I am interested in the coconut oil part…eh?

  4. kamelda permalink
    July 31, 2007 6:25 pm

    You are drinking an illusion.

  5. August 1, 2007 9:32 pm

    Come on now… Isn’t it just TEA!?

    Good grief! You get to reading the tea boxes like you would the children’s cereal boxes and suddenly we’re ten thousand miles away on some distant continent. Earth needs you! WE need you! Come baaaaaaack….!!

  6. August 3, 2007 8:11 am

    There is no such thing as “just tea”. Mmm, I am on my way to my fabulous local shop restock my stores today.

  7. August 3, 2007 8:42 am

    Rachel: And of course this isn’t “tea” at all, but a tisane, since it contains no camellia sinensis. But tea has filtered, as it were, its way into a colloquial bouquet. btw, did you catch that it’s coconut syrup, not oil, that would make a nice sweetener if desired? Coconut oil would be a little–er–viscous. Not to mention the possibility that the deities would slip and fall and sue us.

    Scribster: It’s ok, I’m here. I’ve always been this way. People think I read deep stuff. Nah, I read tea boxes.

    Heidi: How do you know?

    Ruben: Good question. Unfortunately, I became so distracted wondering whether maya was cognate to the Hebrew mayim that I forgot that I didn’t understand your question.

    Vic: Can you imagine holy basil pesto? If the deities can withstand boiling water, I’m sure they’d survive pulverization.

  8. kamelda permalink
    August 4, 2007 4:56 am

    Bash them to bits! Burn them to ashes!

    I thought I might answer your question, but it is an illusion.

  9. happinessandsimplicity permalink
    October 14, 2009 11:28 am

    This cracked me up. I stumbled my way here because I just wrote a post about this very herb, and yours was provided as a possible related post.
    I really enjoyed reading this – quite amusing and even thought-provoking. I may have to stumble my way back here in the future.

Comments are closed.