Skip to content

Dramatic rescue!

August 17, 2007

It was a tense incident in urban Tacoma. It almost appeared to be a suicide attempt. At 3:47 p.m., I braved the sultry August heat and headed up to the chicken coop to check for eggs. I was just in time to save her life.

The aptitude-challenged avian had managed to lodge her head in the cleft between the divider and the backstop of the nesting box. We had never before imagined the possibility of this scenario. Her neck was twisted and she couldn’t move.

She looked so pathetically dumb, I almost wanted to go back for my camera, but her eyes were filming over and closing and her mouth was open, so I had to get her head out of the cleft pronto. I couldn’t pull her backwards, because her head was too snugly lodged.

I wasn’t sure there was time to go down to the house for a hammer to break down the divider, or that I could accomplish that without breaking her neck. I tried shoving her head backward through the narrow opening, but again, I was afraid her neck would snap, given the way it was twisted. I gave another firm shove while bracing her neck, and she flew free.

I came back into the house and washed and put away the two new brown eggs in that insouciant way of one who routinely cheats death in urban Tacoma on sultry August afternoons before 4:00 p.m.   Another suicidal chicken, thwarted.

6 Comments
  1. scribbles2day permalink
    August 17, 2007 5:44 pm

    Excellent! Mission accomplished! One who defies death is no chicken!!

  2. August 17, 2007 6:47 pm

    Well, I was concerned about death, but primarily she just seemed so…compromised.

  3. Ruben permalink
    August 17, 2007 10:33 pm

    Do you not have even the slightest bit of guilt for interfering with the process of natural selection?

  4. August 18, 2007 6:59 am

    No; I’m a proto-Benthamite. It seemed like a good idea at the time.

  5. Janet permalink
    August 18, 2007 5:25 pm

    Lauren,

    I have no idea what a proto-Benthamite is, but you are good Chicken Mom. I am so glad God put you there at the right time.

  6. scribbles2day permalink
    August 19, 2007 8:28 pm

    Suffice it to say what a horror it would be to find said hen too late after the fact, just hanging there. I prefer life where I can.

Comments are closed.