Skip to content

discovering morning

August 27, 2007

We were awake; the heat, the yapping coyote, and the neighbor’s cat thudding onto our roof had ripped open the envelope of sleep. It was 4:28 a.m. My husband offered to make coffee. I wanted to.  It seemed so special to have an hour together before he had to be ready to leave for work.

I was surprised to be so competently wakeful. Spurgeon has said that morning is the best time for prayer, and this is true. The template of creation seems universally calibrated to early-morning amplitude. Benjamin has told me that herbs should be picked before the dew dries to optimize their essence. Perhaps we are most essentially mental and even trusting in the dewy pre-dawn hours as well.

We talked about the consequences of mercantilism, noting happily the pattern throughout history that leaves the oil and wine untouched by the vicissitudes of government-driven economies. My husband prayed for us, and I was aware of having deep, tangible confidence in God’s benign provision so early in the morning. It seems I become more anxious as the day waxes, so early morning is indeed an optimal time for prayer. I have availed myself of this too little.

O God, thou art my God; early will I seek thee (Psalm 63:1).

3 Comments
  1. August 27, 2007 7:49 am

    A blessed morning indeed.

    Another good morning verse:

    “My voice shalt thou hear in the morning, O LORD; in the morning will I direct my prayer unto thee, and will look up. ” Psalm 5:3

  2. kamelda permalink
    August 27, 2007 11:07 am

    That’s wonderful, Lauren.

    But I must tell you that you’re rather unique. Most people I know wouldn’t be thinking with much spiritual sensitivity at 4 AM. Maybe 7, or 8:30….

    It makes sense somehow though, that we’re less clogged with cares and more ready to think freshly and clearly and simply accept God’s goodness without our own anxieties cluttering things up in the mornings.

  3. August 27, 2007 7:52 pm

    I like early morning, if I am guaranteed an ability to doze off again around 10:00. Otherwise, I find myself largely unable to function. But sunrise comes around a little before 6:00 here, and that is worth catching.

Comments are closed.