Skip to content

Bathroom bash

September 4, 2007
tags:

I am passing on a tip that I learned from a scrap metal dealer yesterday, one that saved my husband hours of hard and potentially dangerous work. The best way to remove a cast iron bathtub is not with a dolly and come-along, which was the original plan. The best way to prepare a cast iron bathtub for removal from your home is to bash it to pieces with an eight-pound sledgehammer.

It works. My husband had already removed the tub from its surrounds and tipped it up on its end. He nixed the plan of asking for help in favor of keeping our liability carrier flush. I had a bad feeling about this.

While he was at Home Depot getting lumber for the new sub-floor and renting a dolly, I called a scrap metal dealer and asked if he’d take the tub. He said he would, and made the above recommendation, saying it was much easier and safer than the dolly. He even called back a minute later to tell me to be sure to use eye protection against flying porcelain chips.

I called my husband as he was selecting lumber and relayed the metal dealer’s suggestion. Instead of renting a dolly, he upgraded his sledgehammer collection with an eight pounder.

The sound the sledgehammer made on impact with the tub was like a gong, calling Genghis Khan to dinner from the other side of the Himalayas. I retreated to the far end of the yard to pick raspberries; the sound carried over 100 feet.

My husband carried our bathtub out to the truck in four 80-pound-or-so pieces and a few buckets of fragments. We took them to the metal dealer, and I watched the owner move hundreds of tons of ancient fragments of people’s discarded property with a forklift while another fellow helped unload the fragments of our tub, complimenting my husband on how organized he was.

I love watching other people work.

4 Comments
  1. September 4, 2007 3:25 pm

    It sounds like a very satisfying thing to do –beat a bathtub to pieces.

  2. scribbles2day permalink
    September 4, 2007 7:50 pm

    Gengis Khan. I love it.

  3. September 5, 2007 11:34 am

    Ruben, it is.

    Even more satisfying than bashing walls (which is almost slegehammer nirvana). The gong-effect is very calming, as long as you wear proper hearing protection.

  4. September 5, 2007 8:39 pm

    I shall keep that in mind: in purchasing a house, look for an old beatable bathtub.

Comments are closed.