Skip to content

Vitamin C could be pulling me around the corner

September 17, 2007
tags: ,

For God has not given us a spirit of cowardice, but of power, and of love, and of wise discretion.  —2 Timothy 1:7

Rain was falling when I woke this morning and I enjoyed the sound a little while before getting up. The Cat permitted this. I had huge plans for the day. The first and most exciting was the application of a conditioner to my hair, which has been distressingly dry and brittle lately. This is the degrading fallout of adrenal fatigue. Tired adrenals really know how to kick a woman where it hurts.

I fell asleep in a chair for two hours yesterday afternoon. I don’t even remember whether I was reading or watching my husband do something or just looking out the window. I’ve never conked out during the day for more than 20 minutes before, except when I had mono. I also slept through more of the night than I have in months.

Yesterday I began taking 1000 mg of chewable Vitamin C every time I got up and walked passed the dining room table. Since the table is the hub of our house, I took 5000 or 6000 mg this way. I tolerated it well. Vitamin C is generally thought to be the best natural support there is for the adrenals. I had only one hot flash in the evening and one during the night, a joyous improvement from at least five.

I read a naturopath’s website and nixed the idea of seeing one. The overall philosophy would be intolerable to listen to, the paperwork would be daunting, the fact that my insurance would pay the guy but he wouldn’t bill them, leaving me with this to do when I’m so tired….I’ve seen a naturopath before, and it does no good to tell me I’m allergic to every food on the planet but barley and beef. They arrive at these allergy conclusions by witnessing perfectly normal cytolysis and declaring it pathological. I’ll see what the stepped up Vitamin C will do. I’ve always been a Linus Pauling groupie.

Nutrition has never interested me because my taste has never concurred with its principles. I did see a nutritionist once. She was the wife of my internist, who made some very frightening prognoses he expected to come to pass if I neglected to do this. She and I hit it off very well. She agreed that nachos were an excellent meal, combining all the approved food groups.

I have assembled seven food groups that are palatable and arguably healthful. Except for the Grapes and Berries group, they are all groups of one: Beef, Wasabi, Grapes and Berries, Blue Corn Chips, Black Beans, Mango Salsa, and Chocolate. There’s no point in shocking my already overtaxed adrenals with caffeine withdrawal. Coffee stays on as the eighth indispensable food group.

*** 

My newly conditioned hair is less lackluster but hardly as sleek as John Edwards’s. I squandered the trivial energy I thought I would be able to parlay into Y-Dan this morning cleaning up a spill. The clumsy person’s work is never done. To complete my docket of Big Plans, I will read my exciting Michael Crichton novel today. Yes; it has come to this. A novel. Spurgeon would be so displeased.

3 Comments
  1. September 17, 2007 11:20 am

    The food groups look quite comprehensive and satisfying.

    I had a naturopathic physician once tell me to avoid all meat, barley, and tomatoes (among other things). It would make me feel wonderful. It didn’t.

    After slightly more than two months I broke the regime with a deluxe cheesburger and a pint of beer at the Stockman’s in Missoula. I’ve been healthy ever since.

    The Vitamin C approach sounds very promising. Linus Pauling has always been one of my heroes.

  2. Janet permalink
    September 17, 2007 6:27 pm

    Lauren,

    The naturopath I went to charged megabucks and ‘diagnosed’ me by lifting my arms in the air and poking me in various parts of my anatomy. He declared I had TMJ problems, which may very well be the one thing I have never had!

  3. September 17, 2007 7:33 pm

    I think if someone raised my arms and poked me, I’d probably be spontaneously cured by going into commando reflex response. My adrenals are tired but they aren’t dead.

    Whatever the naturopathic gimmick is, I’m sure it’s something akin to “subluxation:” contrived, subjective, and expensive.

    BTW, I’m still receiving unprintable comments from chiropractor defenders from another piece I posted on cervical manipulations and stroke potential.

Comments are closed.