Skip to content

sounds of morning

September 18, 2007

We’re just a few miles from a new and fabulously expensive terrorist target bridge, and sometimes helicopters circle our house for reasons we know nothing about. They usually do this around 6:30 in the morning. One did this at around 6:30 this morning. I made a note to request a route change. 

The Cat is into Calypso. He jumps on top of our Calypso washer and dryer, extracting powerful resonance from the appliances with his mighty toepads. He did this this morning, again and again. It didn’t work. He padded into the bedroom, jumped on the bed at the level of my face, and urged my forehead with his nose. He pawed my cheek and drew blood. I sat up, scooped him up, and sat him up in my lap. I took the claw scissors from the nightstand drawer. The Cat is very unusual. He loves to have his claws clipped. He sits up in my lap like a sun bear and extends his paws for me. He was lucky; I did not draw blood and I had forgotten to put on my glasses.

I consider setting up our washer and dryer in Westlake Square for my Cat’s act. The dryer is front-loading; we could leave the door open and people could throw money in it. The Cat would compete with the Caribbean guys who play their steel drums there. They are quite good, but the Cat is incomparably cute and would be a hit.

Overwhelming heat sensation without redness or sweat continue to alternate with chills. I have no way to schedule recuperation, but people recuperate from adrenal fatigue all the time. I know God is using everything in His world and mine for my good. I can only think that helicopters whirring in important circles over my house and my Cat on the steel drums down the hall are meant to assist me in reacclimating to the environment in which I must live. How can the day seem over at 9:00 a.m.?

4 Comments
  1. Heidi permalink
    September 18, 2007 8:28 am

    This is so Laurenish. Even adrenally exhausted you still write such a cataract of brain stimulating and smiling phrases. I love your cat with his mighty toepads.

  2. September 18, 2007 9:09 am

    Heidi, you are my expert and inspiration on this. I don’t know how you do it without a cat.

  3. Janet permalink
    September 18, 2007 11:35 am

    Lauren,

    You must see Nora the piano-playing cat:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v0zgQAp7EYw Her owner is a piano teacher, and she plays along with her students. It is priceless.

  4. September 18, 2007 11:44 am

    Oh! Nora, The Sequel! I’d seen the original but this is even better. And she really has a top-notch stage mom, what with her own online store now. Coolidge will probably demand a publicist when he finds out. Thanks for posting this, Janet.

Comments are closed.