Skip to content

mercies

September 21, 2007

I didn’t sleep very much and had repeated hot and cold sensations, but felt upheld and encouraged. I did have a “fever dream” that a school of fish had to traverse a slick black tile subway tunnel. They flipped end over end for a while, then they sprouted legs and crawled through the tunnel. I don’t know where they were going, but they got there any way they could.

I have things I need to do, things I want to do. I miss my brethren and church. I really really hope I will sprout “legs” and get there this Lord’s day.

I didn’t wake up an evolutionist.  I didn’t wake up feeling hopeless and sobbing. I kept hearing the tune “Aberystwyth” in my head. It’s one of my favorite tunes but I wasn’t sure at the time exactly which hymn tune it was. I confirmed it by clicking on a couple I thought it likely was on my Trinity Psalter recording this morning (it’s Psalm 5). It’s the tune to Trinity Hymnal 427, “Jesus, Lover of my soul,” by Charles Wesley. I cried reading the hymn: I was so affected that God reached out to comfort me this way. His mercies have been immense.

I’ll copy the hymn here so you can cry and be affected by God’s mercies, too.

Jesus, Lover of my soul,
Let me to thy bosom fly,
While the nearer waters roll,
While the tempest still is high:
Hide me, O my Saviour, hide,
Till the storm of life is past;
Safe into the haven guide,
O receive my soul at last!

Other refuge have I none,
Hangs my helpless soul on thee;
Leave, ah! leave me not alone,
Still support and comfort me!
All my trust on thee is stayed,
All my help from thee I bring;
Cover my defenseless head
With the shadow of thy wing.

Thou, O Christ, art all I want;
More than all in thee I find:
Raise the fallen, cheer the faint,
Heal the sick, and lead the blind.
Just and holy is thy Name;
I am all unrighteousness;
False and full of sin I am,
Thou art full of truth and grace.

Plenteous grace with thee is found,
Grace to cover all my sin;
Let the healing streams abound;
Make and keep me pure within:
Thou of life the Fountain art,
Freely let me take of thee;
Spring thou up within my heart,
Rise to all eternity. –Charles Wesley

3 Comments
  1. scribbles2day permalink
    September 21, 2007 7:04 pm

    472. Is that the Trinity Hymn number, or the tune to different lyrics. I vaguely remember that one. I should learn to read music again so I can sing it, besides that I haven’t a clue. Thankyou for posting this.

  2. September 21, 2007 7:34 pm

    Aberystwyth is the name of the tune and it’s used for the First Tune of Trinity Hymn number 427. The same tune is used for other hymns, but this is the one that was trying to get my attention.

    I’m glad you like it!

  3. heidi permalink
    September 22, 2007 4:57 am

    That is the most beautiful hymn, and I too was very affected that God would put that in your head and send you to those words just now.

    I’m praying very much for you.

Comments are closed.