Skip to content

I didn’t want to be right, but…

October 3, 2007

My doctor called this evening. Yesterday’s cortisol test was very worthwhile. My original theory was correct, though I called it adrenal fatigue. Adrenal fatigue is clinical presentation of my symptoms without actual blood findings of low cortisol. I have adrenal failure. Adrenal failure is consistent with my symptoms and blood-diagnosed low cortisol. Very low.   It’s known as Addison’s disease, or hypocortisolism, or adrenal failure, or adrenal insufficency.

Most adrenal failure in people like me who don’t take steroids is associated with autoimmune disease. It’s very treatable, praise God, with hydrocortisone. It’s a relatively rare disease, occurring in 1 in 40,000 people.  That equals around 7,500 of us in the United States.

I’ll begin treatment in three weeks. I’m also estrogen-depleted; the two in this case are independent, and I’m taking increased estrogen.  I hope nobody bombs the pharmaceutical factories.

I need to be protected from stress until I start on the hydrocortisone three weeks from now. I become stressed talking or writing to friends about my health. I will continue to post updates on my blog.

Thanks for your love and support and prayers.  It is a terrible bane to me that I love but cannot enjoy my brethren right now.  This has been a deeply special time for me to know very strongly God’s perfect power to keep His Church,  despite the defects of her members.

4 Comments
  1. heidi permalink
    October 3, 2007 7:50 pm

    Oh wow, Lauren.

    I’m not though surprised that this turned out be a problem too. Reading the descriptions it sounded too similar to what you are going through; I’m so glad they found out and can save you in time.

    I could just cry for you. But at least now you know what’s wrong.

  2. October 3, 2007 7:58 pm

    Don’t cry Heidi!!! It’s so curable and simple, really. God’s perfectly ordered provision made it possible to get it diagnosed and treated before I grew any worse. I didn’t really think in terms of “saving,” but I suppose Addison’s can be life-threatening. Be of good cheer, gauchita. There’ve been some mountains moving to get this far this fast.

  3. heidi permalink
    October 4, 2007 3:29 am

    I always think in terms of saving having watched too many episodes of ‘The Justice League’.

  4. October 4, 2007 6:29 am

    Right. But there’s kind of a context gap that might readily swallow the average reader.

Comments are closed.