Skip to content

updates on recent events

October 9, 2007

Our chickens are on sabbatical, molting now since August, laying no eggs. They seem quite merry about it all. We’ve read that this happens sometimes, and it has happened to our entire flock of four. Oh yes, the flock of five became a flock of four when one passed her oviduct and died this summer. Sad thing it was; when I told Heidi, she adopted it as a symbol of despair.

I have been unable to exercise for two months, setting a new personal record for inertia. I had to stop even doing my slow, gentle Y-Dan routine because of hypotension, which I now know to be due to adrenal failure. I stopped using the Swiss ball because my joints are too unstable and I kept dislocating ribs. I haven’t walked due to exhaustion and hypotension. The good news is that my back feels much better without exercise.

Our bathroom remodel is almost complete; I’ll try to take a photo when it’s finished, if there’s room for me and my camera in there. My husband installed new Hardibacker shower walls and did a great job with the new tile; the new tile in the shower goes well with the 1950s tile walls; the tub is in place, and the Marmoleum floor is down, awaiting just some details around the curlicue tub border. Other than that, all that remains is the baseboard molding; we’ve decided on cedar. We now have two of perhaps six mold-free bathrooms in the Greater Puget Sound Region.

Today marked my first reel-free day since learning last week that I have Addison’s disease. I got through the day without once reeling from the news. I’ve arrived at acceptance, knowing there will likely be times that I travel backward. I’m okay with the idea of taking hydrocortisone for the rest of my life. I pray I will tolerate it and have no side effects. I start the regimen in a little over two weeks and then the symptoms might for the most part be over. I’ll have to come up with some big plans for all those new waking hours.

I learned how to microwave pasta perfectly. Now I can use a lightweight plastic bowl instead of hauling a heavy pot from the cupboard. This marks a paradigm shift in ergonomic domestic operations that will probably get me invited to present a paper at the next conference of Counter-Entropy Operatives. Don’t worry: you’ll see it here first.

6 Comments
  1. October 9, 2007 11:14 pm

    My congratulations on your accomplishments! This is certainly ground-breaking in a way. What is left that God hasn’t taken yet, is the question? God certainly has a loving hand, a Father’s hand.

  2. October 10, 2007 7:34 am

    Yes, thank you. Accomplishing absolutely nothing in two months is an outstanding accomplishment.

  3. October 10, 2007 7:48 am

    I was getting all excited about the next counter-entropy conference, wondering what time of year it would be and what exotic location it would be held in. It’s important to plan these things early so as to make sure the trip is deductible.

    But my internet search only turned up a Peak Oil conference and a management seminar. I’m sure those people would be interested, but they could hardly be counted on to understand the subtle but huge impacts of your discovery.

    There was also an obscure reference to counter entropy in an article published by a scholarly journal from Johns Hopkins, but that dated to the 1960s. Your publicist is struggling to find a venue. . . .

  4. October 10, 2007 7:53 am

    Couldn’t we just go hang out at Anthony’s and watch Chef Jeff obliterate entropy with swift deft strokes of his awesome blade? We could eat Cobb salad until the others arrive. Surely others will arrive. If not, I’ll just eat my salad and let my brilliant findings be discovered in a more grateful era.

  5. October 10, 2007 8:06 am

    Anthony’s would be a fine venue. Watching Chef Jeff would teach more about management in an hour than you’d learn from a year at the Harvad School of Business. I think you’d get a bit of particle physics and basic thermodynamics in too.

  6. October 10, 2007 8:15 am

    Yes, that’s where my big gap is, thermodynamics. Although I have mastered a basic tenet: An object like myself that is at rest tends to remain at rest unless acted upon by an outside force. I await the outside force that will satisfy the condition.

    Perhaps Chef Jeff would defray part of the registration fee if I would teach him how to microwave pasta. Although he seems to have little people to take care of that sort of thing.

Comments are closed.