Skip to content

Sequence leading to becoming a protozoan

October 12, 2007

In my dream last night I was sitting up but couldn’t feel my body. I thought I must have become a seahorse. Someone was reading a proclamation: I was appointed to lead a delegation of protozoa. I despaired that I could never be up to the task.

It’s no wonder I was so exhausted that I would dream of being a tired protozoan. Life goes on, Addison’s diagnosis and all.

By 3:00 yesterday afternoon, the four Polacks still hadn’t shown up. Undeterred, I determined to change the utility room light bulb myself. Yes! I moved the stepladder to the project site. I loosened the three (3) set-screws. I removed the glass globe, washed, and dried it, inside and out. I replaced the light bulb. I replaced the glass globe and secured it with the three (3) set-screws. I returned the stepladder to its place. Then I read four pages from John Piper’s Roots of Endurance and conked out.

Before that, I had been shopping at a small boutique food store that is pleasant and slow-paced. I got the few things that I could remember putting on the list that I forgot to bring and presented myself triumphantly at the check-out. The cashier, with whom I normally exchange friendly greetings, greeted me warmly, asking how I was. I was stressed: interaction is difficult for me right now, and I didn’t want to stand there hyperventilating over the two-syllable normative pleasantry, “fine, thanks.” I was trying to decide whether to say, “fatigued” or “tired,” so she wouldn’t escalate to what a nice day it was (it was raining, but that never matters here). But it came out, “Fired.” She looked a bit embarrassed and then smiled and said, “Well, you have a nice day.”

So today I am recovering from these overwhelming events and will soon be stressed and in my light mind–no, that’s dressed and in my right mind–and enjoying–yes–enjoying the new mercies of the day.

4 Comments
  1. Heidi permalink
    October 12, 2007 8:43 am

    “I thought I must have become a seahorse.” That is perfect. (I dreamed that I had children. I never dream that I have children and can’t help feeling that it’s a confirmation that I never will. But last night I dreamed I did. They were somebody else’s and I was the nanny.)

    Since you didn’t put in a nice little parenthesis with a numeral for how many pollacks and pages I got very confused and stumbled among the linguistic symbols for numerical significance.

    I hope you aren’t too fired today. How lovely to be dressed, though.

  2. October 12, 2007 8:49 am

    Fired seems to be a decent conflation of the two concepts. May the mercies of today be more pleasant.

  3. October 12, 2007 9:09 am

    Heidi, given the dreams we have, it’s a good thing the age of revelation through dreams is over.

    I’m sorry about the numerical confusion. The set-screws seemed so significant. I can’t tell righty-tighty from lefty-loosey looking up from underneath. Each seemed to go its own way.

    Vic, yes, I’m always abstracting beyond the normative two-syllable greeting. Then I become embarrassed and confused. But I didn’t hit her. Charlie Brown and the little red-haired girl proved an instructive dynamic in my early youth.

  4. October 12, 2007 8:54 pm

    I think it’s amazing how that you could be so easily worn out yet your heart remains triumphant. I am not talking about attitude, but the perseverance of heart that Christ walks with you.

    Get some stress, I mean rest!

Comments are closed.