Skip to content

Things that never change

October 18, 2007

In a world most people think is changing much too fast and in far too many disconcerting ways, I think it is important to note hallmarks of stability, however small, as they are presented. Fortunately, several Things That Never Change cooperated to bring peace and stability to my morning.

I woke up stiff and dizzy. Good. Nothing has changed for the worse. The lights flickered while I was in the shower. Good. We’re still on the grid. A neighbor is out searching for a lost kitten. Good. There is still value and care and confidence in neighborly concern here on the Street of Lost Cats. My coffee and my white shirt found each other, a phenomenon noted in law school as “Lauren’s little drinking problem.” Good. I am consistent. Same spot. Same technique. My misconception of gravity and lack of coordination remain intact. Rain is falling. Good. God continues to favor the earth. I am able to read and write and think and communicate with the knowledge that in God I live and move and have my being. Good. God continues to favor me in particular.

4 Comments
  1. October 18, 2007 9:12 am

    I think you have empirically debunked chaos theory.

  2. October 18, 2007 9:18 am

    There was never any chaos. Hesiod has snookered the masses for over two thousand years. I think people want to believe in chaos because it is the antithesis of God.

  3. October 18, 2007 11:00 pm

    What is stability in the face of calamity if it is not in God?

  4. October 19, 2007 9:18 am

    Wow! Look at that new avatar!

Comments are closed.