Skip to content

Life goes on and so simply, really

October 25, 2007

 Once again, it was a lovely day to be in Seattle. Traffic was easy and we made the trip in an hour. The best endocrinologist in the world opened my appointment to addressing my questions. He said my questions were very good epidemiological concerns and answered all of them.

It turns out that treating my Addison’s disease is going to be a simple thing and my first dose of hydrocortisone tomorrow morning could relieve most of my symptoms in four hours. I am not given to multiple exclamation marks, but to the fond reader they should be implicit.

The fabulous news was that, since my dosage is intended to maintain cortisol levels I would produce if I had normal adrenals, no monitoring will be necessary. Yea and for joy! We can live in the boonies, far from any lab! But we probably won’t.

I am to return in six weeks for a blood check, but I am officially restored to civilian life with the light duty of a couple of pills a day. Cortisol is necessary to life, and Addison’s disease is progressive, and eventually I will produce no cortisol at all, so I will always need hydrocortisone. But it’s a light assignment.

I’ve ordered a medical i.d. bracelet per my doctor’s request. I don’t need an account with a relay service, just my condition conspicuously engraved. See how easy life can be….

We ate a delicious breakfast at a delightful new bistro in Madison Park. I have been buoyant all day. Ebullient, really. I sit on my hands and rock and smile when I’m like this. I hear Bill Gates does the same thing.

The prospect of renewed energy and the cessation of the symptoms that told me something was definitely wrong is revitalizing. God’s provisions of my awareness, my resourceful husband, and my awesome doctor got me diagnosed before I ever had a life-threatening Addisonian crisis. I have hope in God’s continued mercies and faithful provisions.

A man’s goings are established of Jehovah;
And he delighteth in his way.
Though he fall, he shall not be utterly cast down;
For Jehovah upholdeth him with his hand. (Psalm 37:23-24)

5 Comments
  1. heidi permalink
    October 25, 2007 3:58 pm

    This is wonderful Lauren. I’m rocking on my hands for you too.

  2. October 25, 2007 4:02 pm

    Thanks Heidi. Friends that rock together…rock together.

  3. Jane permalink
    October 25, 2007 5:45 pm

    We rejoice with you!!!! What a wonderful report. Here’s hoping you feel better already. And such an easy regime to follow.

  4. heidi permalink
    October 26, 2007 8:44 am

    How about friends that rock together go into shock together?

  5. October 26, 2007 8:48 am

    I thought of that, and hoped you wouldn’t pick up on it. Alack…maybe we can dock together somewhere. But if you read the update I just posted, you won’t count on it.

Comments are closed.