Skip to content

Whoops: a correction, a crash, and a little perspective

October 26, 2007

I need to make it a rule not to write while in a state of euphoric optimism, and if I do write, not to publish until running my work through a post-euphoria reality check.

Even failed adrenals follow the laws of physics: what goes up must come down. An hour after posting my upbeat update, I crashed into complete exhaustion. I should have seen it coming, but euphoric fog can be impenetrable. My husband is getting the hang of it better than I am.

In my post yesterday, I wrote, “It turns out that treating my Addison’s disease is going to be a simple thing and my first dose of hydrocortisone tomorrow morning could relieve most of my symptoms in four hours.” Um, that is not at all what my doctor actually said.

It is true that treatment should be simple if I manage the dosage without complications, and none are expected. However, in my euphoria I seized upon the experience of one patient, who experienced cessation of one particular symptom in four hours, and transformed it into a generalized prospect. I certainly would not want to represent my doctor as making extravagant predictions.

My memory cleared later and separated out the details. My husband’s memory is always clear, but he wasn’t home when I launched my happy post. So, yes, do share my optimism, but share also in the reality that things will take a little longer than the scenario my pre-crash euphoria reconstructed.

A note to my friends: If I agree to go on a cruise to Antarctica with you, or agree to meet for a quick tea in Indiana, hold off on making reservations….

May we rejoice together in bounty and affliction: rejoice always; and may we know contentment in whatever circumstances our God ordains for us. Whate’er my God ordains is right. (Trinity Hymn 94)

One of my friends sent me this bit of a Puritan prayer from The Valley of Vision and I wanted to share it.

“May the agency of Thy grace prepare us for thy dispensations. Make us willing that Thou shouldest choose our inheritance and determine what we shall retain or lose, suffer or enjoy…”

3 Comments
  1. heidi permalink
    October 26, 2007 8:47 am

    Lauren, I half expected the whoopsing — I do understand that when you’re up you’re very very up and when you’re down you’re horrid. Must go. “Jesus” just left a comment on my blog….. apparently advertising a vacation in the Dominican Republic….

  2. October 26, 2007 8:50 am

    The DR?! Heidi, let’s GO!!!

    But you never believe me, do you?

  3. heidi permalink
    October 26, 2007 9:21 am

    I schedule regular cycles of belief and unbelief. Just as when I schedule to do anything I also schedule a cancellation. This all goes on subliminally. It’s a reflex now. I have managed to subconsciously achieve a perfect stasis of energy in which my brain is a balanced potato. The rest of my body goes on, controlled by a carbohydrate. That should explain most of my behavior.

Comments are closed.