Skip to content

Harney and Igloo, in one day

October 29, 2007
tags: , ,

I’m so glad that my friend Rachel is in her pregnancy-efficiency mode.

I received a lovely surprise present today, in the form of several fancy tins of lavish Harney & Sons teas in little silken sachets: in no way shall practicality compromise classiness and due proprietea. But underlying the gift, I harbor hope of an even more extravagant surprise, of a visit. I suspect Rachel was making my house safe for her visit by stocking it ahead of time with proper teas. Good move, Rach. You shall never know the privation of tinned, pre-ground coffee or Stash tea bags in my home.

And, I found my Igloo mini-cooler, the one I bought in Santa Barbara in 1991. The significance of this was lost even on my husband, who simply set it against the wall when he found it while cleaning out the garage. It had lain undetected behind boxes for five years, and I had despaired of ever seeing it again.

I had taken a taxi to the Santa Barbara airport, and extravagantly had the driver wait while I picked up a deli sandwich and some fruit at a grocery store, and the little cooler to keep them in. I was about to board one of the first no-meals, no-frills, no-fun flights. I had just learned of the new airline barbarism and the fact that I would be in transit from 4:00 p.m. till 10:00 p.m. without dinner. I have always been in the habit of buying my way out of the slightest misery whenever possible.

I’ve moved four times since I bought the little cooler, and had assumed it was lost in the last move. My husband cleaned out the garage last weekend when he took the debris from our bathroom’s former existence to the dump. Since the transformation of the garage, I hadn’t really scanned it for anything, but only admired the open space. Today I noticed my little cooler against the wall, coated with sawdust. I brought it outside and hosed it down, then into the kitchen for an appreciative cleaning. What a wonderful little cooler it is. I just want to pack a deli sandwich in it and hop a flight.

But I’d rather stay home and finish my Big Red Sun tea.

4 Comments
  1. October 29, 2007 12:27 pm

    Tea sounds like a good alternative. Nowadays, hopping a flight is a bit more complicated. The cooler probably can’t fit into the Homeland Security mandated plastic bag.

    I suspect that deli sandwiches are contraband as well.

    Maybe it can be used to supply a hike in the park.

  2. October 29, 2007 12:51 pm

    Yes, the park would be a suitable destination.

    It still amazes me to think that mustard is probably a gel substance to be transported in one’s shoes.

    For this and so many reasons, I’ll probably always feel new to my native planet.

  3. October 30, 2007 7:52 am

    You should see me this morning. I am in Pregnancy-lethargic mode. I would never barricade your house to suit my needs. After all, you already have The Harpsichord, what else could I wish for?

    I must admit that I would be sorely disappointed to come over and have something terrible. But I am not there for tea, mostly for you. However, I would never think of raiding my own gift to you! :-) Well, one can only hope…

  4. October 30, 2007 8:46 am

    Well I never really suspected you were motivated. :) You’ll always have the House Best, and with great discipline I might conserve some Big Red Sun. But if I fail…I’ll make sure to have something else.

    Lethargy is protective. Enjoy it while you can. Entities have a way of undermining it once they externalize.

Comments are closed.