Skip to content

A yowling cat, a rare disease, and restoration of amity

November 13, 2007

In just a little over a week, God has used a yowling cat to restore amity between neighbors and a rare disease to restore fellowship between friends.

I abjectly confess that we had been off speaking terms with our next-door neighbors for more than two years because we and they were equally convicted that our respective rights were more important than being neighbors.

But their daughter’s loud-voiced black cat went missing, and I’m simpatica when it comes to cats.

When I heard a yowling cat in my back yard and saw that it was black, I raced next door to hail my neighbor, thinking it was her daughter’s missing cat. But the cat, whose body type was not, after all, a match for the missing cat’s, didn’t stick around to be identified. My neighbor, however, hung out for a while and we chatted, recognizing we had at least one thing in common: neither of us was above appearing at each other’s door at 7:30 in the morning in hastily donned sweats and earrings.

My neighbor’s loud black cat remains on the lam, but we’ve resumed speaking and waving terms. We appreciate the fact that a lot of us are home during the day in our neighborhood, and that this should be a source of comfort, not of stress. Neighbors are essential to neighborhoods.

For lack of denominator data, which would be the total number of English-fluent female Reformed Christians on the planet, I have no way to calculate the odds of two women living within 30 miles of one another, meeting at a conservative Reformed seminary, becoming friends, and having the same life-torquing disease that occurs in 1 in 100,000 people. Add to that the variable that both have contentious temperaments that shredded their friendship for a couple of years.

My friend–I’ll call her Angela–has had Addison’s disease for many years; I was diagnosed just over a month ago. Of course I thought of her. Of course I thought with rue how our stupid puffheaded pride had separated us and how wonderful it would be to have a friend who understood the complexities of managing Addisons. But I didn’t need a friend who understood Addisons–I have an endocrinologist and a research-obsessed husband–I wanted Angela back. What a black hole my sin had left in my life that we had not reconciled! No: that I had not reconciled. Angela was very gracious the last time we saw each other at an event. I was hardhearted. Hideously so.

I no longer had Angela’s email address, and so I asked my husband to call her husband because I didn’t want to intrude suddenly if her health had declined. He tried several times, unsuccessfully. So I called a mutual friend who is a pastor, and asked if he would email Angela and give her my address in case she’d like to get in touch.

As I knew she would, Angela responded with warmth and contrition, and then I was able to respond in kind. We have both grown; God has leveled and mellowed us. He has helped us to devalue ourselves and value more what He values.

Sanctification actually does occur in one’s own lifetime. I don’t know why this always surprises me, but it does. And it’s worth a chunk of life, if that is the cost, to see it in the beautiful light of God’s amazing mercy and grace. That light is both hard and soft; it outlines and fills, tempers and sharpens. In Angela’s steadfastness I see Him altogether lovely: the very constellation of graces that keeps His unglorified Church together.

One Comment
  1. November 14, 2007 5:00 am

    Wow. Thank you for such a wonderful testimony of His grace, both in the content and the humble spirit it took to disclose the content. That sanctification HAPPENS takes me shamefully by surprise sometimes, too!

Comments are closed.