Skip to content

from the laptop of a Once and Future Priss

November 15, 2007

Once again, the Once and Future Priss is showered with blessings.

I woke from at least four hours’ sleep, able once again to behold the tendons in my slender ankles. With my glasses on, I could see my face still oval. And the day still held, expressed in KJV style, much good things.

My husband approved our having company Thanksgiving Saturday. He is very protective, since I readily overdo, but this family is a can-do and will-do bunch, and will be no strain, but a joy. Health changes and attendant adjustments can make for a lonely vigil sometimes, so it will be wonderful to enjoy fellowship with these cherished brethren, and for their girls to meet the chickens. Coolidge will almost certainly retreat to his tower and sulk, but he is adorable this way and they will enjoy his scowl, too.

I have been reflecting on this: that Job did nothing to sin away his blessings; I did, and yet God has shown me mercy in restoring manifold the blessing of a friendship that in my sin I  once rejected. How wonderful to know such mercy, for I see it as an even greater mercy than He showed to Job, for Job did nothing to reject God’s goodness to him, and I did. But that of course is what grace is: undeserved. I forget this so easily.

I’m beginning to feel a difference for the good from the hydrocortisone without the bane of side effects. I’m still very much in the “no promises” zone, but I am enjoying this time of having a long face and small ankles. On the lower dose I’ve had no shortness of breath or heart thrums or anxiety; nor do I  feel like a candle in the sun, so balance between side effects and symptoms might be at hand. I confess this is actually right on schedule and that I have been impatient to be the very model of precocity. This has not been granted. The struggle this far has not made me stronger really, but it has reminded me that God’s sovereignty goes on, with our without my deference.

I’ve decided it’s too much trouble to apply concealer to the black circles under my eyes; however I did procure some, for a whopping $2.79, should the spirit of vanity so move me. May the spirit of something more useful overtake me first.

4 Comments
  1. November 15, 2007 1:37 pm

    May all our days hold much good things.

  2. November 15, 2007 4:49 pm

    My husband will be attempting to impale animals with arrows flown at high speeds towards them the weekend after Thanksgiving….now I know you will be prepping that Friday, but what about tea the following Monday?

  3. November 15, 2007 5:56 pm

    On! Bring your Mom and Emmie so I’ll have plenty of help. :)

  4. Janet permalink
    November 16, 2007 5:04 pm

    Lauren,

    I am so happy to hear of God’s tender mercies toward you and will pray that improvement will continue.

Comments are closed.