Skip to content

Simple Winter Crockpot Soup

November 29, 2007
tags: ,

I originally planned this to last for two dinners, but my husband liked it so much he took a thermos full to work for lunch. But it’s so easy to make more.

1 cup uncooked brown rice
1/2 cup uncooked black beans
2 cups cut-up vegetables (I used zucchini, onions, bok choy, asparagus this time.)
1 cup cubed roast beef or ham
6 cups water
salt, pepper, seasonings of choice to taste

Cook on high in crockpot about 4 hours. This is a delicious, thick soup that goes very well with Irish soda bread for a simple, healthy meal.

Note: I find it convenient to buy fresh vegetables and slice and freeze them in zip-lock bags as soon as I bring them home. Even mushrooms retain their freshness this way. That way, they are ready to add to recipes like this or to sauté, and I’m not having to deal with prepping when I’m low on energy or time.

3 Comments
  1. heidi permalink
    November 30, 2007 7:09 am

    So efficient you are.

  2. November 30, 2007 2:33 pm

    Ooh, sounds wonderful. And the kitchen hint is very much appreciated.

Trackbacks

  1. New Years Resolutions? - The PuritanBoard

Comments are closed.