Skip to content

El ponchito and some past projects

December 8, 2007
tags:

I wanted to update my gallery of completed projects.  I don’t really knit that much, and most of my efforts go into “girlfriend rags,” or designer cotton dishcloths–no need to memorialize those here.

An early effort in my re-entry period into knitting, about three years ago, was this vest for my husband.  We both spun the Shetland wool yarn:

vestfront.jpg

vestback.jpg

I knit this baby sweater for a shower gift about two years ago.  It has a four-button placket flap in front to fit overhead easily.   It’s hard to see, but the color is emerald green with various colored flecks, in a washable sport-weight wool:

 babysweater.jpg

This is “El Ponchito,” the poncho I made for my friend Rachel’s baby.  He won’t see it until he enters the world this spring.  The yarn is Red Heart, totally washable.  The drawcord will make it fit a newborn to probably a year.  The conceptual motif is “dapper over diaper.”

babyponcho2.jpg

I knit this garter-stitch poncho two years ago from Lyon Brand Homespun.  It’s sewn at the shoulder to get the drape angle:

poncho.jpg

6 Comments
  1. heidi permalink
    December 10, 2007 9:02 pm

    You look beautiful, angled just so, and flowing just along the right lines, in the poncho. I’m stunned with your creations. Meanwhile I’ve learned to ribbon-stitch a Lupine.

    I sent you some ‘real mail’.

    ((((( ))))) (a very tight hug)

  2. December 10, 2007 9:09 pm

    Heidi, you’re up so late! I hope you will blog a photo of your ribbon-stitch lupine. I can’t imagine anything more beautiful, except maybe a real lupine in a field of lupines. I’m huge on lupines, actually.

  3. December 12, 2007 2:23 am

    Hey, you look pretty in that garter-stitched poncho :-) I wonder if it’s possible to do that using silk yarn?

    Hahaha, of course, silly me.

  4. December 12, 2007 7:04 am

    Sure, you’re young! Better get started! :)

  5. December 12, 2007 5:57 pm

    That poncho of yours got me all envy :-)

  6. December 12, 2007 6:41 pm

    Your silk one will be the envy of all you see! When you finish it, I’d be happy to post a photo of you modeling it here if you’d like. Your silk poncho will advertise the Palawan Women’s Silk Cooperative and expand their markets!

Comments are closed.