Skip to content

I am beginning my first sweater. . . .

December 8, 2007
tags:

Yesterday I visited my truly wonderful local yarn shop and selected the yarn for my first actual sweater.  I have knit vests, but never a sweater with sleeves, always the daunting penultimate challenge.  The ultimate challenge remains socks.

The yarn is Louisa Harding Kashmir DK, a merino-microfiber-cashmere blend, in a light turquoise.

I am following a pattern I found for a cardigan sweater, knit sideways in garter and box stitch.   I’ll post the completed sweater and the pattern link once I ascertain that it works; I’m knitting 6 sts per inch, so check back in about two years. 

And here I memorialize the beginning of this grand undertaking:

newundertaking.jpg

2 Comments
  1. December 12, 2007 2:20 am

    Wow, it’s in blue, my fave color. Compared to you, I haven’t really started my silk shawl. I’m having difficulty learning, plus my time isn’t often allowing me to do it with Adelfa (my tutor). Sigh… I wonder if I can make me a shawl in time for Christmas…

  2. December 12, 2007 7:03 am

    Were you going to weave it or knit? I don’t know a thing about weaving…knitting a shawl by Christmas, out of silk…hmmm…maybe with really big needles! Crochet might go faster but I don’t do that, either. Take your time–it will be worth it to have a tight weave or knit so it will keep those tropical breezes off your shoulders!

Comments are closed.