Skip to content

The joy of socks

December 17, 2007
tags:

My friend Janet knitted these beautiful socks for me in a lucious butter-yellow merino/silk blend.  She made them according my measurements and they fit perfectly, and are incredibly soft and luxurious. 

Now my Smartwool merinos seem like ragwool, and I must have a wardrobe of handknit socks.  Janet is going to share her pattern with me, as adjusted to my measurements, and I aspire to knit a pair to match my sweater-in-progress, Lord and yarn supply willing.

socks.jpg

And here is my sweater-in-progress at Day 10.  It is knit sideways, and this is the Right Front; I have just arrived at the beginning of the Back, just past the Right Armhole.

sweater10days.jpg

2 Comments
  1. December 19, 2007 5:47 am

    Very nice to both works! The socks look to die for, as will the sweater once it takes shape. I have a hard time envisioning flat things in 3D. Once you get the hang of socks, will you knit me some for Christmas? :)

  2. December 19, 2007 8:01 am

    I’d love to, God granting me the years and the skill. Pray there will be enough Christmases–I don’t think I’ll get to them by next week! :)

Comments are closed.