Skip to content

Hoc corpus est. . .

January 2, 2008
tags:

Ecce corpus:

body2.jpg 

body11.jpg

Et maintenant, je commence les sleeves

At the stroke of noon today, I bound off the stitches of the completed body of my sideways-knit sweater.  This is the “Sonnet” at knitty.com, but I have a few caveats before I link the pattern. 

I’m about to begin knitting the sleeves, and I see a problem with the pattern.  At a rate of two stitches increased every 8 rows, you will likely exceed the desired length of sleeve before you have increased to the target number of stitches, unless you are knitting a minimum of 11 rows per inch–unlikely if you’re using a chunky yarn.  I’m using a fairly fine yarn at 6 stitches and 10 rows per inch.  To use my own numbers, I will cast on 54 sts and must increase to 96.  That means increasing 42 sts, or 21 pairs, thus 21 rows of increase.  The designer says to increase at the beginning and end of every 8th row.  (8×21=168) divided by 10 (rows per in.) = 16.8 inches.  But the instructions tell me to “knit even to 16.5 inches” once I have increased to 96 stitches.  Methinks there is a boo-boo in the directions.

Also, I have used 8 balls of yarn, 116 yards to a skein, and I have not begun the sleeves.  But according to the pattern’s estimated yardage, I should have only needed 7 skeins for the entire sweater.  I will likely go through 12.  I suggest buying 70% more yarn than the pattern says you will need, with an arrangement that you can return what you do not use.   A 70% underestimate is pretty significant, and I knit at precisely the gauge that the yarn label gives for the size needles I’m using.

Another odd detail about this pattern is that the buttonholes are made on the left.  Women’s cardigans usually have their buttonholes on the right, but I don’t think this is a very big deal. 

The sweater is knit sideways, and the body consists of a seamless right front, back, and left front.  The only sewing is the shoulder seams, the sleeve seams, and the seams attaching the sleeves to the body.

3 Comments
  1. January 2, 2008 1:33 pm

    Ça va bien! Félicitations.

  2. Janet permalink
    January 2, 2008 11:45 pm

    Lauren,

    I have been thinking about this. I have not knit a lot of sweaters, but every one I have knit asks for sleeve increases every 4 rows, rather than the 8 of this pattern…hmmm.

  3. January 3, 2008 6:51 am

    Aha! This confirms my two theories: that there is a universal default formula, and that you would know it!

Comments are closed.