Skip to content

Ron Paul and the signs in rainy blue country

January 10, 2008

The last time I discussed politics with my neighbor was on primary election day in June 2004, and I had to rush to the emergency clinic before we finished. It wasn’t because she’d said she was voting for Kerry; I sustained five bee stings standing on her front lawn.

Puget Sound is serious blue country. Tacoma denizens are largely union and government workers. Sperling’s breakdown claims 50.5% of Tacoma voters are registered Democrats and 48.6% are registered Republicans, but this, if accurate at all, can only be translated to mean that 50.5% request Democratic ballots in our pick-a-party primaries and 48.6% request Republican ballots. There is no party registration in Washington State.

Pierce County went for Kerry in 2004, as did Washington State. All the counties east of the Cascades went for Bush, but they are population-outclassed by the overwhelmingly liberal Seattle side of the mountains.

My congressman and all my state representatives are Democrats, and of course, Washington has a Democratic governor.

Yard signs are certainly subjective indicators. Dicey statistics notwithstanding, the first yard and right-of-way signs I saw just driving around town over the summer were all for Ron Paul. Ron Paul’s organization was together before anyone else’s, because Ron Paul supporters didn’t go through an undecided phase.

Today I saw my first Obama signs. Ron Paul’s signs outnumber Bam Bam’s, but I’ve seen only one Hillary sign and none for anyone else. Maybe I’m just not very observant. And it doesn’t help that everyone’s signs are uniformly red, white, and blue these days. But most signs I see now are for Ron Paul, and a few just sprouted for Bam Bam. No Mittster, no Huckster, no Guiles, just Ron Paul and Bam Bam. I know people who are supporting Kucinich, but they’re like us–they don’t do yard signs. Maybe Clinton supporters aren’t tall enough to put up signs.

My neighbor, the one with all the bees in her front yard, describes herself as “glued to the television.” But she is a thinking person, something I value as rare in the population, and I wonder what she thinks of all the people who told exit pollsters they “just had to go with their feelings.”

I wish the Ron Paul organization would stop flaunting the backwards LOVE in rEVOLution and stick with who Ron Paul is. Ron Paul does not need to be recreated or reinvented or redefined or reimagined. His campaign should not resemble a Beetles concert.

Ron Paul is the one candidate who is not hoisting the banner of Change. Ron Paul is hoisting the banner of restoring what was right when this country was founded.

Ron Paul is a thoughtful person and a thinking person and he is not driven by his feelings or anyone else’s feelings.

Ron Paul does not have a mantra. “the Constitution” is not a mantra; it is an established set of foundational principles. “Change” is a mantra. The word “change” is mindlessly fluid. Anyone can swig it through his or her mouth and spit it out to conform to any vessel held out to it.

6 Comments
  1. Laura permalink
    January 11, 2008 5:19 am

    I had kind of hoped that the backwards “love” thing was just coincidental. Pretty wishful thinking. I too have seen lots of Ron Paul signs around here and sometimes people standing on street corners advertising a radio program on which he is at the moment interviewing! I just drove through a decidedly Huckabee neighborhood yesterday, though. :(

  2. wutitiz permalink
    January 11, 2008 5:04 pm

    You’re right–I hadn’t realized it but I haven’t seen any presidential signs except Paul here in Bellevue, with the caucus less than 1 mo. away.

    I disagree w/ Paul on foreign policy, but I’m glad he’s been able to mount such a strong campaign because I agree on so many other counts. His fundraising especially indicates terrific intensity, and intensity in politics can mean a lot. The NRA for example has been able to beat back gun control in recent yrs. Even tho there is majority support for many gun control measures, and only 4 million NRA members, the NRA members have intensity on their side.

  3. January 11, 2008 6:21 pm

    I think you’re hitting on something: Ron Paul is a no-nonsense straight-shooter (no pun really intended) who appeals to intense people. This election would be so unbelievably dull without his deadpan intensity.

  4. wutitiz permalink
    January 11, 2008 6:38 pm

    The key thing is that it not be allowed to evaporate after the election. It would be nice to see an organization along the lines of NRA or ACLU come out of the Paul campaign.

  5. January 12, 2008 6:48 am

    I don’t think we’ll see “an organization along the lines of the ACLU” come out of the Ron Paul campaign. To that I would add the caveat, beware of principle-neutral intensity.

  6. January 13, 2008 3:22 am

    So that’s why EVOL is capitalized in “revolution”. I thought it was just some random acronym that meant something important to someone.

Comments are closed.