Skip to content

Health Research Terrorism

January 16, 2008
tags: ,

I was having such a happy day yesterday. I wore my new sweater to Metropolitan Market and felt like a celebrity breezing through to bestow endorsements. I read and wrote a few emails. The day was beautiful, clear, and crisp. I started a new undertaking–my first pair of knitted socks–and began learning to negotiate four needles pointing in all directions. What turned my dancing into mourning was the latest health research terrorism.

It isn’t like the “hormone therapy equals cancer” hype is anything new. But they’ve upped the ante: now hormone therapy could equal far more sinister, deeper, nearly undetectable cancer: lobular breast cancer.

Lobular cancers comprise approximately 10% of breast cancers. Have they always, or is this a trend related to HRT? The study doesn’t clarify this, at least not what is reported in the above-linked article.

For most of us on hormone replacement therapy (HRT), estrogen isn’t optional. All these studies really do is give us more data to help us decide our mode of inevitable death–HRT or the lack of it. Hydrocortisone has its downsides, but no one is suggesting that people with Addison’s disease stop taking it. Why don’t they leave those of us who have tried, but cannot do without estrogen, alone?

I don’t know how cancer research spending compares to what bin Laden has spent to terrorize us, but cancer research is big business. Last year at this time, the Susan G. Komen Foundation alone hit the $1 billion mark in its 25th year of operation.

In 2004, Europe spent 3.2 billion EUR ($4.6 billion USD) on cancer research.

Research brings about publications which bring about prestige which brings about grant funding which brings about research. And research brings about contention with other research. The fear-mongering press defends itself with its mantra of “patient choice.” But what choice is there, really? Death is so inevitable.

Research terrorism serves only to remind us that whatever instrumentality our sovereign God deploys in His perfect will to effect our inevitable end for His glory, death is outrageous, unnatural, and inevitable.

But no doubt we will still spend a lot of money trying to change things, and try to terrorize people into choosing misery over death.

2 Comments
  1. Jane permalink
    January 18, 2008 8:59 am

    Well said!! Hormones have given me back my life, as I’ve said many times before. I can’t help but agree with you that there’s a money trail….plus the abhorrent truth that people on hormones often deprive the medical establishment of funds because we DON’T get sick in the same ways that people without hormones do. Man is always “supressing the truth in unrighteousness” (from Romans 1). Tests are skewed, facts are twisted or ignored all together….I feel better than I ever have in my adult life. If I should develop cancer, I don’t regret for a moment HRT. At least I will have had 5 good years.

  2. January 18, 2008 9:19 am

    Amen, sister.

    Money and control are most efficiently exacted through fear, and fear is mitigated if not banished altogether by the ultimate truth of God’s sovereignty. All other control is delusion.

Comments are closed.