Skip to content

Caucus duty calls more imperatively than expected

February 7, 2008

It seems after all that we will be attending our raucous caucus this Saturday.  My husband and I decided it was worth declaring ourselves members of the Republican Party, for this purpose only, for the pleasure and purpose of voting as many times as we legally can for Ron Paul and to meet the like-minded neighbors.

I detest this sort of thing, really.  It smacks so much of Libyan democracy. (Ha ha, Dragon NaturallySpeaking thinks I said “Libyan” democracy; I said “plebeian” democracy. I have to edit it very carefully. Or maybe it thinks more subtly than I do.)  But I have grown up valuing the idea of the secret ballot, and the image of people marching about declaring their allegiances strikes me as puerile, and, at worst, neoclassical.

Caucusing is a way to ensure that introverts will not interfere with the power structure. Self-respecting introverts normally would be disinclined  to attend a caucus. I am overriding my strongly-expressed introverted self’s better judgment in order to exercise my right and privilege to vote for Ron Paul, something I have waited a long time to do, and something which it is unlikely I will have another opportunity to do.

Apparently the Washington caucuses are on the national radar screen and so I suppose the event is an important one. I hope it will not be repeated. I hope we can simply return to voting in the polls,  filling out ballots, and being rewarded with cookies and dopey little stickers. But since when do introverts, or anyone who values privacy and individuality, call the shots in an election?

Comments are closed.