Skip to content

Just a typical God’s-world-is-my-prison kind of morning

March 5, 2008

The morning is crisp, clear, frosty, and one of the last to be graced with early light before ergocentric daylight savings time darkens the first hour.

A cheery docket awaits my attention. Take meds. Make tea. Check my Cat’s biopsy incision. Contemplate what inadvertent offenses real or imagined elicited the snarls and indifference of my brethren this time, as they perhaps contemplate my snarls and indifference.

We’re called to bear one another’s burdens while incompetent and self-centered in our own. As one of my good friends is good at reminding me, we’re burdened with “laziness in the fear of God and hypersensitivity to the opinions of others.” Unfitness to love and enjoy relationship with the community of saints does not excuse us from what God has called us to do. From some buffetings we’re given no escape: bad news for those who must put up with me.

Meds, check. Tea, adequate. I really should consider going back to using a teapot, but bags make for less dishwashing. Why add bad to good and pretend there’s balance….

My Cat’s incision is dry, the stitches intact. He is so brave, lame from the invasion of a huge probe that exacted a chunk of flesh for the dermatopathology lab. It seems too much, just so that we can know the cause of a recurring mysterious bald spot. But his habit of being unusual means that anomalies cannot go unexamined.

Incredibly, the day resists my gloom and retains its beauty.

One Comment
  1. March 5, 2008 10:22 am

    Yes, God has made the day, despite our desire to “save” its light or bring it “balance.”

    “And let the beauty of the LORD our God be upon us: and establish thou the work of our hands upon us; yea, the work of our hands establish thou it.”

    Psalm 90:17

Comments are closed.