Skip to content

Hypermiling off the price of fruit, and a free steak

June 18, 2008

Going to the market has become an activity rife with intellectual rigor and stunt-driving prowess.

My Audi’s computer has a mpg display, so I’ve taken up hypermiling.

Actually, I’ve discovered that I’ve always driven this way, at least to some extent, just because it is an alert way to drive, and, as some of my readers helpfully point out, I’m frankly paranoid. I believe that I have to think for everyone piloting any vehicle on the road that is within my line of sight in any direction.

So, I’ve discovered that my Audi gets somewhere between 8.4 mpg leaving my driveway and 178 mpg coasting downhill; she idles at a stoplight at 53 mpg. Cool, big deal. I only wish there were a way I could directly discourage ethanol production.

The gas sold where I took this picture on May 25 is now $4.35 a gallon for regular unleaded.

I’m not up on the government’s latest excuse for fruit prices, but small Bartlett pears were $2.39/lb today at Safeway. At least South Americans are raising organic pears instead of cocaine, but they seem to be requiring price parity between the two crops. A single small mango was $2.39, up from $0.99 the last time I craved one, but I wanted it, so my husband and I will split it for dessert and feel like we’ve just had High Tea at the Four Seasons.

I crossed the street and went to Metropolitan Market for an organic beef roast. I’ve been buying the same brisket for $4.99/lb since November. The brisket is still $4.99/lb, but the top round steaks were on special: buy one, get one free. At $5.99/lb, this was certainly the better deal, and the top round would do fine in our crockpot soup.

But why were they giving away these steaks? They were days from their sell-by date. But ranchers can scarcely afford to feed their cattle because of the price of grain. The mid-west floods have caused a corn shortage, but the longer-accumulating reason is ethanol production commandeering grain from the food chain.

Just for laughs, check out the energy consumption at Al Gore’s house.  But maybe there’s a reasonable explanation for his increased use of electricity–like he’s plugging in his fleet of hybrids.

A measure of wheat for a penny, and three measures of barley for a penny; and see thou hurt not the oil and the wine. (Revelation 6:6)

2 Comments
  1. June 18, 2008 10:24 am

    Ha, I noticed that Big AlGore’s house electricity went up almost 10% after his greenie improvements. But that’s OK, according to that PlanetSlayer website, because buying green products is always more important than cutting energy consumption.

  2. June 18, 2008 10:55 am

    I propose a new currency: 14-inch silk squares, for pocket lining.

Comments are closed.