Skip to content

Tall Ships sail into Tacoma

July 3, 2008
Lady Washington, shooting at us

Lady Washington, shooting at us

They really are wonderful, even if the parade of sail starts to seem like a living museum drifting by. Coast guard boats and helicopters keep up a kinetic pace, even if the sailing ships are cruising under power at about four knots. Their crews keep their sails unfurled so they can drift in beauty into Foss Waterway.

Not many things can lure me into a crowd. Somehow, I managed to stand on concrete, sit on a backless wooden table, and sit on a wake-jostled wooden pier for five hours. I was very excited to see the tall ships under sail, even if they were “sailing” under power. Their jibs look more like wings than the wings of airplanes.

Lynx

Lynx

The Tall Ships parade of sail is the best thing that happens in Tacoma. They last came in 2005, and I didn’t go to see them sail in; I saw them docked later in the evening, their sails furled. How much more dramatic it is to see them under sail, and shooting cannons at us, as well.

I wanted especially to see Amazing Grace, and I saw her. Happily, she was ninth in the parade of 29, and cruised by while my camera still had vital batteries.

Amazing Grace

Amazing Grace

 

Cutty Sark and Bligh's launch

Cutty Sark and Bligh

 

 

Kaisei

Kaisei

Nina

Nina

Rejoice

Rejoice

HMCS Oriole

HMCS Oriole

Resolute

Resolute

 

Tacoma fireboat spurts its stuff

Tacoma fireboat spurts its stuff

 

For more information about these and other Tall Ships, and the Tacoma Tall Ships Festival, click here.
4 Comments
  1. Renee W permalink
    July 4, 2008 10:45 am

    I see Bligh’s launch….any photo of the Bounty? That’s the one I wanted to see (and the Nina–Thanks!) We went down last night to see them docked but couldn’t get past the police barricade.

  2. July 4, 2008 10:51 am

    The Bounty and her gig weren’t together, and I didn’t bring extra BATTERIES–!–and when the Bounty went by my camera was napping. I wanted to get a photo of her, but alack…at least I saw her under full sail.

    Homeland Security regs were in effect and Security patrols were very active. We saw but didn’t photograph a little confrontation between a kayaker and a Coast Guard patrol. It was all so exciting….

  3. Janet permalink
    July 4, 2008 8:19 pm

    Oh, the tall ships…how I love them! I toured Lady Washington with my 2 very little girls and have dreamed of sailing on her just once before I die.

  4. July 4, 2008 9:09 pm

    Janet, you can book a trip–or crew!–on her. Check it out here.

Comments are closed.