Skip to content

Urban hiking: Tacoma’s chain link byways

July 13, 2008

I enjoy urban hiking with my husband in the industrial sectors of Tacoma.  The purpose of any hiking expedition is to enjoy environments different from the particular one in which we live.  On a beautiful, hot Saturday afternoon, we saw almost no cars on the streets of our city’s Southeast side.  The chain link fences here immediately stood out as a motif.  Themes of work and decay are visible everywhere through the links.  I find the area fascinating.

My Grunhilde.  You have to get there somehow.

My Grunhilde. You have to get there somehow.

 

Does anybody get this?

Does anybody get this?

Plastic palms in a chain link oasis

Plastic palms in a chain link oasis

 

Destiny! I keep calling it the City of Density.  Affectionately.

Destiny! I keep calling it the City of Density. Affectionately.

 

My husband chivalrously cuts back blackberry vines reaching across the sidewalk.

My husband chivalrously cuts back blackberry vines reaching across the sidewalk.

 

Trestle bridge near a possible "blackberry hotel."

Trestle bridge near a possible "blackberry hotel."

 

Caraustar Cement Plant, where people still work in America.  Some things will never be outsourced.

Caraustar Paper Recycling, where people still work in America. Some things will never be outsourced.

 

Holroyd Cement Plant

Holroyd Cement Plant

I don't know what this is, but it is primed for entrepreneurial vision.

I don't know what this is, but it is primed for entrepreneurial vision.

 

We saw fresh sawdust, so we assume this is an operating business that is for sale.

We saw fresh sawdust, so we assume this is an operating business that is for sale.

I am not for sale, but if I were, I would be VERY expensive.

I am not for sale, but if I were, I would be VERY expensive.

Only a few skyscrapers accent Tacoma's skyline, but look, Mom, no smog!

Only a few skyscrapers accent Tacoma's skyline, but look, Mom, no smog!

This midden contained nothing but harmless trash; hard to say who left it.  It's on a residential street, too close to the road for camping.  Honestly, people...

This midden contained nothing but harmless trash; hard to say who left it. It's on a residential street, too close to the road for camping. Honestly, people...

It's 83 degrees in the shade, and this guy is running with a 4x8 sheet of plywood.

It's 83 degrees in the shade, and this guy is running with a sheet of plywood.

I found the insouciant pose of this glove on the fence post compelling.

I found the insouciant pose of this glove on the fence post compelling.

One Comment
  1. August 14, 2008 7:31 am

    Beautifully done.

    More!

Comments are closed.