Skip to content

Affirmations recently tested

October 20, 2008

“I wouldn’t cross the street to see Joe Biden.” Confirmed. There he was, virtually across the street from the end of our block. Didn’t go.

“You can use espresso coffee in a percolator.” Yup. Did it, loved it. Now I can use our dear old stainless steel percolator and not have to even consider laying out $80 for a stainless steel stovetop espresso maker that makes a scant 9 ounces of coffee. I don’t have to worry about aluminum ions from our dear old aluminum stovetop espresso maker eating my brain cells, either. Just wet the filter basket and the heavenly Medaglia d’Oro espresso coffee perks just fine. What few grounds find their way through the filter are delightfully ingestible; or, they can sink into unobtrusive sludge at the bottom of my cup. At least I have coffee tough enough to keep me looking out the window at the rain. I doubt that the co-occurrence of major corporate coffee and ten months of rain a year is a coincidence.

“Antique dealers are all liberals.” Reversed. This was a default assumption I scarcely would have brought to mind until an antique shop owner amazed me. He was crazy about my McCain/Palin hat. I kept staring at him, waiting for the crazed, evil laugh of irony to break. Nope: he’s a true, sworn Conservative, paleo even. We have a new downtown haven, if we ever need an antique.

“Brand-name gas is the most expensive.” Nope. Chevron was the cheapest gas in town yesterday, at $2.75. No extra charge for the nostalgic aroma of jo-jos.

“Poll respondents lie or are stupid.”  Res ipsa loquitur.

One Comment
  1. October 22, 2008 5:25 am

    You have a great writing style and a neat sense of humor. Your article made me smile! Thanks!

    Denise
    http://www.successforrealpeople.com

Comments are closed.