Skip to content

Indices of normalcy

November 6, 2008

It has been kind of a year, and with elections over, I pondered what it should be that I might next obsess upon. But first, I thought it would be important to consider how I will know that life is really normal again.

It could be hard to recognize normalcy, should it return, because normal is never quite the same as it was before things strayed from whatever was last recognized as orthogonal normal.

I thought of some signs that would cue me that normalcy is indeed restored, albeit changed. I’ve made a short, tentative list.

1. Things will be normal when slick-soled Christians like me, whose feet constantly want to slip, begin seeing the world through the Bible again, instead of the news.

2. Things will be normal when CNN runs more cat-rescue videos than stories about the Economy, the Transition, and the Dress.

3. Things will be normal when I pray for God’s upholding of the President.

4. Things would be normal if the President were to read the Bible in its light as the Word of God, and would find compelling Ezekiel 46:18, which says,

“Moreover the prince shall not take of the people’s inheritance by oppression, to thrust them out of their possession; but he shall give his sons inheritance out of his own possession: that my people be not scattered every man from his possession.”

5. Things will be normal when the population is no longer obsessed with moose stew and rimless glasses; and when a dress that looks like a gutshot Rothko does not threaten to become a fashion trend.

Comments are closed.