Skip to content

Almond-Squash Biscuits: Is my second almond flour experiment the new pumpkin pie?

November 11, 2008

The second leg of my quest to tastefully disarm insulin resistance turned out well. I hope these biscuits will belay any feelings of dessert deprivation at Thanksgiving, or any time. My secret ambition was to replace pumpkin pie. Uncoached, my husband, said it tasted like a Snickerdoodle. Under pressure of suggestion, he said it tasted like pumpkin pie.

I freely confess I know absolutely nothing about food chemistry; I came up with this recipe using only intuition seasoned with years of following recipes for completely different types of baked things. Somehow, it worked.

My recipe uses butternut squash, which is a low glycemic-index food. I’ve found it does not elevate my glucose level. Pumpkin is a little higher on the glycemic-index scale, but might be safe for some insulin-compromised people. Other squashes that I can think of will be too watery.

First, a hint, so you can learn from my experience–nothing inedible happened, just “experience.” Use squash that is soft to mushy, but not waterlogged. If it’s firm or chunky, mash it to smithereens with an electric mixer or food processor, or cook it longer, before adding it to the almond flour. Otherwise, if you try to smooth it out with the almond flour, you may overmix it and create almond butter. This will not end your career, but almond meal was the idea.

Almond-Squash Biscuits

1 cup almond meal
1/2 cup cooked, mashed butternut squash
1 egg white, stiffly beaten
1 Tbsp cooking oil (use what you find healthiest and most palatable; I use canola)
1/2 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp natural unsweetened cocoa

Combine all ingredients except egg white and blend well, but not to the point of making almond butter. Fold in egg white. Form balls, place on well-oiled baking sheet, and depress slightly. Bake at 350 deg. F. for about 15 min. Makes 8 biscuits.

Of course spices can be adjusted to taste. If you think your beautiful biscuits look too dull, you can always spread them with cream cheese and make smiley faces with walnut fragments. :~|

One Comment
  1. Cristie permalink
    August 19, 2009 9:16 am

    I just wanted to tell you these biscuits are genius!!! I love them. Being a newly diagnosed hypoglycemic, they are perfect. I feel like there is not a lot to eat. I can’t get enough of them! Thank you.

    Cristie

Comments are closed.