Skip to content

Watching the royals

January 20, 2009

In order to remember my precise historic locus at the time of the historic 44th presidential inauguration, I made a few mental notes that I have recorded here.

There is something I like about Nancy Pelosi. I like her royal blue coat, very much.

Rick Warren, of whom I am not ordinarily a fan, was surprisingly substantive, probably because he was on notice to be perfunctory.

The President said, “We are a nation of Christians, Muslims, Jews, Hindus, and unbelievers.” I picked up my husband’s Bible, the nearest one to me, and opened it up. It opened to Psalm 79. “O God, the heathen are come into thine inheritance…”

Theoretical and contingent possibilities make for more effective rhetoric than facts. The President invoked the contingent possibility that, sixty years ago, his father might not have been served in a restaurant. But then, his father wasn’t here.

I suppose I must be a royalist at heart. I still choke up at “Hail to the Chief.” I cry for the guy going out, and I cry for the guy coming in.

All in all, Americans, like Christians, present more of a united than a divided front, at least on special public occasions.

Comments are closed.