Skip to content

Latest comfort food for uncomfortable times: Black Bean Brownies

March 19, 2009


Really, I’m not easily bored with meager gruel. I happily ate my homemade white bean soup, some nuts, and some Haggen Dazs Chocolate-Chocolate Chip ice cream, called lunch good, and went back to doing laundry and some reading. Then I received an email from my friend Sarah in which she asked if I had ever tried black bean brownies. She knows I can’t eat anything with any type of grain. She’d tried a black bean brownie and said it was really terrific.

I was between tasks, and somewhere between intrigued and inspired, so I searched online for a recipe for black bean brownies. (My experience with cookbooks is that they take up space but sell well at garage sales.) Several came up, and I went with this one from reliable, lucid, allrecipes.com. I skipped the optional instant coffee and chocolate chips.

I happened to have all the necessary ingredients on hand. I made a batch of flour-free brownies and declared them delicious. They are also gluten-, dairy-, and soy-free. They are also a little fluffy, rather than chewy, and a little crumbly–but I’ve found that’s pretty much life in the gluten-free zone. I’ll try whipping the egg whites next time; that helped when I was experimenting with almond flour. All that notwithstanding, I agree with Sarah: “you would never know they were an alternative dessert.”

I don’t buy canned beans, but I had just cooked a batch of black beans. I don’t have a blender, but I have a food processor, and it pulverized the beans and blended everything fine.

Black Bean Brownies

2 cups cooked black beans (or 1 can, rinsed and drained)
3 eggs
3 Tbs vegetable oil
1/4 cup cocoa powder
dash salt
1 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup white sugar

Preheat oven to 350 deg F. Lightly grease 8″ x 8″ baking pan. Combine all ingredients and blend in blender or food processor. Bake about 30 minutes, or until knife inserted comes out dry. Yields 16 brownies.

Thanks for the idea, Sarah!

2 Comments
  1. Sarah permalink
    March 24, 2009 7:39 am

    I made these yesterday, but included the coffee extract and the chocolate chips, and they received rave reviews. Very moist. Miles couldn’t believe they were beans.

  2. tastyeatsathome permalink
    October 5, 2009 4:57 am

    Nice! I made a version and posted it on my blog the other day! Love it.

Comments are closed.