Skip to content

Stir-Fry with Curried Black Bean Sauce

March 24, 2009

“I can’t eat for everything!” I whined/explained to my endocrinologist. Ah, but I can. I just invented this Stir-Fry in Curried Black Bean Sauce, and it is low- (zero, if you don’t use meat; low, if you use chicken) cholesterol, gluten-free, and low-glycemic. I have high cholesterol and impaired glucose tolerance, and this recipe is safe and appetizing for me, keeps the endocrinologist at bay, and cheers my husband for both reasons; plus, he likes it, too.

I was at Safeway on the routine drill, and saw this beautiful wok. It’s Nordic Ware, made in U.S.A., non-stick, lightweight, and dishwasher safe. It was on sale for $14 and I had a $10-off store coupon for whatever I bought. It’s lighter and  more ergonomic than my skillet. Its best value was that it inspired me. I stowed the cast iron wrist-buster in a cupboard and hung the wok in its place alongside the stove.  I felt like making curry, and wondered whether there was such a thing as curried black bean sauce. I searched and discovered there was, sort of, but developed my own recipe instead.

Stir-Fry with Curried Black Bean Sauce

Curried Black Bean Sauce

Combine in food processor:

1 cup cooked black beans (or canned, rinsed and drained)
1 small or 1/2 medium onion
4 cloves peeled garlic
2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
3 Tbsp vegetable oil
2 tsp curry powder
1 Tbsp water

Blend till smooth. Makes enough sauce for about 6 servings.

Prepare stir-fry ingredients of choice, i.e., chicken, mushrooms, peppers, onions, peas, &c. Place in wok or skillet and add 2 Tbsp oil. Heat over medium-high heat till cooked through. Add Curried Black Bean Sauce and heat till hot.

4 Comments
  1. March 25, 2009 7:11 am

    Wow Lauren you should author a cookbook! (Definitely illustrated :-) You are so splendidly creative with this sort of challenge; congratulations. I love the colors in that stir fry.

    A wok is a mysteriously wonderful thing: I love just to see the shape of mine lying around the kitchen. What a great deal to get a good one for 4 dollars.

  2. Laura permalink
    March 25, 2009 10:00 am

    Wow, that does sound good, and very healthy. (Most of my sauce formulas consist of 3/4 butter, 1/4 flavoring.) :p Congrats on the wok purchase, or should I say steal! Dishwasher safe pots are always a Good Thing, although since it’s nonstick it shouldn’t be too hard to clean anyway.

  3. Janet permalink
    March 25, 2009 5:38 pm

    Lauren,

    This sounds positively yummy. Alan will love it, I know..and me, too!

    Have been reading Manton on Psalm 119 = just beautiful. And I’m re-reading Mary Bunyan, blind daughter of John Bunyan. Have you ever read that? It is somewhat fictionalized, I know, but it is chock full of scripture and encouragement to trust in our sovereign God. I am enjoying it so much.

    We loved the Mom song – thank you!

  4. April 18, 2009 5:32 pm

    Just cooked this for dinner tonight, and my wife and I loved it. Thanks for the recipe.

Comments are closed.