Skip to content

the past few days…

April 8, 2009
 

 

The nice thing about having an eclectic blog like this is that, after more than 600 posts, it has its own life without me. I don’t know where Oikos mou goes at night; I don’t know who its friends are. My stats show that nearly as many people read something on my blog every day whether or not I post anything new. But this is as long as I’ve ever gone without writing a new post.

I haven’t come up with a cogent outline for my ephemerally prospective 1,000 Ways to Escape a Blah Routine For Dummies. There are too many possible sub-headings, and I lose interest after about one.

I haven’t written anything new because I haven’t had any new ideas. Mostly I’m stalled at having no idea why I’m more tired than I’ve been since the months before I was diagnosed with Addison’s disease; and having no idea why I have symptoms of carpal tunnels or “overuse syndrome” or tendonitis or Something unless any use is overuse. The dauntingly strenuous task of hefting a ladle full of soup, for instance, sends burning streaks of pain through my arm. Fibromyalgia and four types of arthritis have long been on my chart, and I was hoping the hand and arm pain was something I could actually do something about.

Tomorrow (which, according to the calendar I have lost interest in checking, is Thursday) I will report to a neurologist for an EMG test that might yield answers as to why my hands and arms hurt and numb out as much as they do despite my scaled-back demands on them. I don’t suspect anything at all sinister; on the contrary, I am easily leveled by the most prosaic things.  

A friend was going to take me to the neurologist for the test, but I decided for the sake of simplicity to go alone. I envy people who have friends with whom they do things like this; I envy people who can manage a lot of things I can’t manage. But for me, doing something with a friend and taking a nerve conductivity test are two Things, and I can’t manage two Things in one day at this point. My friend probably understands, but I don’t.

We took a lovely road trip Sunday to the Columbia Valley. It was wonderful to see old friends in their new home, and in the church he pastors. I felt fine, numb hands and all, all the time we were there. Providentially, of the 31,101 verses in the Bible, 7,957 of which are found in the New Testament, Steve was preaching on 2 Corinthians 12:7-10, which concern the apostle Paul’s thorn in the flesh. These verses, of course, are really about Paul coming to grips with his own inability to remove the unidentified thorn, and God assuring Paul that His strength is perfected in Paul’s weakness.

A few weeks ago, my husband repotted our little blood-orange tree, the most exotic resident of our greenhouse. For the first time in its four years, the little tree has blossoms amidst its long thorns.

I behold the blossoms with hope and awe, knowing that in God’s good time, blossoms will bloom alongside my thorn,  too.

 

 

 

8 Comments
  1. Laura permalink
    April 8, 2009 7:46 pm

    Dear Lauren, I am all the more touched that you would make the effort to keep in contact with me over my rough weekend in the midst of your own very real trials. It is like reading of how Christ committed his mother and his disciple to each others’ care, from the cross—convicting. You are in my prayers. Oh, and I totally understand how the two Things work out to be too much.

    That’s a lovely orange tree. I always wondered if any citrus could grow well on non-tropical soil. I’ve kept some seeds from Valencia oranges just in case that might work some day.

  2. April 8, 2009 8:18 pm

    Dear Laura, I’m just so very grateful that all worked out with the difficult time you were facing. We’re all such minimal beings–if we couldn’t exceed ourselves when necessary, through Christ’s *sufficient* grace, where would we be?

  3. April 9, 2009 3:34 am

    That is a beautiful tree. Lauren just a note that I’m praying for your appointment today. And like Laura I too understand entirely the thing about two things being two things :-).

  4. Jane permalink
    April 9, 2009 7:22 am

    It was so good to read your update. I also understand about the ‘two things’ issue. May God continue to grant you His grace…looking forward to hearing what you learn at today’s appointment. With love….

  5. April 9, 2009 7:52 am

    Thanks…I won’t know any results till a week from today when my pcp relays the neuro’s report to me. Sufficient to today is being jabbed for an hour with needles. :/

  6. Laura permalink
    April 9, 2009 3:59 pm

    Wow, does the newsflash across the top convey the results you said you’d have to wait a week for? Whatever the case that sounds like GREAT news!!

  7. April 9, 2009 7:01 pm

    Yes! The congenial neurologist told me the results after the testing. It IS great news! Whatever it is–probably good old down home tendonitis–still hurts but it isn’t originating in an impacted nerve.

  8. Janet permalink
    April 14, 2009 11:54 am

    Lauren,

    Isn’t is amazing how a little bit of God’s lovely creation can uplift you? Your blood orange tree is beautiful! I am embarrassed to say that I had quite an emotional attachment to my pretty Cecil Brunner rose, which did not make it through this past winter. I hate to admit how sad the death of this sweet rose made me. I hope I have not become like Jonah and his gourd! Oh dear, what a sobering thought that is. Love, Janet

Comments are closed.