Skip to content

Symphonies, Calvin, and the end of hyperlinks

April 27, 2009

In a surge of flagrant autonomy, I am typing this with my own hands. Healing is happening, slowly. Typing is clumsy in latex gloves!–but they help. I get 5 minutes, then 5 more if there is no significant pain after 4 hours.

I only wanted to record a few passages that have glistened, and a few reflections.

“All wish God to grant them a prolongation of their life; a wish after which the whole world ardently aspire, and yet there is scarcely one among a hundred who reflects upon the purpose for which he ought to live.” –Calvin, Comm. Psalm 119:17

I have been listening to a lot of symphonic music: all the symphonies of Brahms and Beethoven, and some by Mahler. Symphonic music is integrative; it seems to keep my mind organized in the absence of writing. I can read while it is playing; in fact, I find that I take in more of what I read if I am also listening to this type of music, and take in more nuances of the symphony’s structure if I am also reading. I have also been listening to the Symphony for Winds, by Richard Strauss. My enjoyment of Strauss is disproportional to my opinion of him, but I suppose I’m that way about a lot of people, places, and things.

This from Calvin on Psalm 119:28:

“He repeats the expression, ‘according to thy word,’ because, apart from his word, God’s power would afford us little comfort. But when he comes to our aid, even should our courage and strength fail, his promise is abundantly efficacious to fortify us.”

I’m reading some diverse things. Since being almost completely off the computer except to peer over Vic’s shoulder to read email or look at pictures of exotic places we can’t hope to overcome the logistic obstacles to visit, I have been reintroduced to amazing peace with the fact that some cultural references in books will simply be lost on me. Books do not contain hyperlinks(!). It is actually pleasurable to paddle about in the For Dummies pool without benefit of a hyperlinks float. Hyperlinks are a waste of my limited finger clicks, and it is likely that when I return to full-scale typing and writing, I may eliminate them, leaving oblique references agape. Hang on!

Comments are closed.