Skip to content

The inflation of delumination, &c.

May 11, 2009

The forces of darkness are more petty than we thought. Buying light bulbs at Target proved illuminating this week. No longer are 60-watt light bulbs the norm. A strange new phenomenon has overtaken the land: the 57-watt light bulb. Now really, will a 5% reduction in our quality of light save the planet? I wonder what sorts of pollution crimes had to be committed in developing the technology of the 57-watt light bulb.

Speaking of new technology, we learned that Dragon Speaking normally will not work with a laptop computer absent an improved sound card. We have acquired a new sound card and Dragon now hears my voice. I am learning the mechanisms of interaction between dictating and writing, two disparate functions which in my case seem to bear a relationship slight in the extreme.

In addition to learning to dictate intelligibly, I have enjoyed the frustration of my operating system crashing twice, requiring me to reboot my computer and revive the Dragon anew, frying my hands. My hands are very little better despite their life of relative leisure.

I can open my e-mail and compose and send very short e-mails. I can open websites, including my blog. I can dictate on my blog’s editor screen, but by the time I have moved the cursor where I need it, I have forgotten what I was going to say when I get it there after cajoling it along with repeated voice commands. Moreover, my written and spoken languages apparently have pathways, different modes of delivery, and even different idioms. I don’t actually think that my dictated written product will ever be the same as the written work that I produce through manual process. The overuse injury to my hands, whatever its anatomical basis, could be months healing.

All in all, life goes on, albeit differently. I try to seek what is uplifting; I try to recognize but not bemoan my limits. And I try to become more proficient at what I say I try to do.

2 Comments
  1. May 11, 2009 12:26 pm

    Lauren two such ‘happenings’ in one afternoon as a postcard and a blogpost from you have truly made my afternoon. Praying for you diaphanousest L. Return postcard is in tomorrow’s mail — I am constantly balked in my path to greatness by such small things as not having stamps on hand, which is what happened in this case. But the path is once more clear: stamps are once more available to me. Who knows what I shall accomplish. At least, I shall send a postcard to a dear friend.

    With LOVE.

  2. May 11, 2009 2:36 pm

    Thank you, Heidi. The existence of both our comments here attests to more achievement than anyone can begin to understand who hasn’t done this.

Comments are closed.