Skip to content

The Box up the Stairs, Part Five: Amsterdam, 1981: It was all so very strange….

July 30, 2009

Picture 834

“Guard your bag,” George, having rolled the dice, whispered as he indicated with his head a fellow slithering toward our booth. “He has two passports.” The two-passport motif marked the Amsterdam pirate. Everyone who had been in the city a day knew that.

I was at The Bulldog, enjoying a coffee milkshake and a game of backgammon. I don’t know how to identify the category of establishment to which The Bulldog belonged. I suppose it was a café, or some sub-genre of one. George was one of my Aussie berth-mates at a houseboat bed-and-breakfast. The houseboat was on a canal, walking distance to Dam Square and everything else of interest to tourists in various stages of initiation. The houseboat had four bunks to a berth, and space was assigned in order of appearance without regard to gender or nationality. This sense of order seemed to be the prevailing motif in Amsterdam. But look, for about $12 U.S., you got a clean place to sleep and all you could eat and carry from a comprehensive breakfast layout consisting of eggs, cheeses, meats, breads, and fruits.

I was traveling alone in Europe for a month with the benefits of a Eurail pass and no itinerary. I came to Amsterdam for the most urbane of reasons: everyone there spoke English. After a glorious week in England, and still unready for total immersion, I crossed the Channel in a matchwood craft and came ashore at Oostende, Belgium at 4:30 in the morning, having no idea that I was in Flanders, or that trying to order some pancakes in French would be such a national insult. I departed for Amsterdam and broke my fast on the train.

Picture 831

A short walk from the train station, I found the houseboat and declared it raunchily charming. After settling in — in other words, tossing my backpack onto an upper bunk — I headed out to see the city. Near midday, I realized that a crowd was suddenly rushing toward me. Everyone in the street seemed to be running. I noticed some rather exceptionally brawny fellows with sticks, their faces bearing the malice of the quintessential evil dwarves of Gothic archetypes. I stood against a pillar until everyone had run by, and continued my walking tour and some shopping. I later learned that I had been in the midst of a squatters’ riot, a not particularly uncommon event.

That evening, I returned to the houseboat and met my Aussie berth-mates for the first time, and we hit the essential Bulldog and walked about the Square. I asked whether they knew why the ladies who were obviously prostitutes hung out in glass cases along the Square. Those ladies, I was informed, were licensed and vaccinated. The streetwalkers, on the other hand, were lethal objects. Not that any of my gentleman roomies had anything but indirect knowledge of such things. I had worked as a field epidemiologist in Houston for the state health department’s venereal disease division, but that scarcely kept me from feeling new to the planet in Amsterdam.

Picture 828

Picture 832

Picture 836

Picture 835

The following day, I was off to Norway to see fjords and Munchs; one of my chums returned to Australia, another was heading someplace else, and the other had bought a bike and an extra passport and was riding to Spain.

Amsterdam was all very charming; but looking back, I might at least have attempted a few words of Flemish in Oostende.

3 Comments
  1. Jane permalink
    July 31, 2009 7:03 am

    What a fun travelog! I got caught up this morning, the earlier part of the week having been devoted to slaying a few of my dragons and beading. Travel on; I want to see the rest of it!

  2. July 31, 2009 8:25 am

    I am following your travels by placing picture books on hold through the library.

  3. July 31, 2009 10:11 am

    Welcome back, and congratulations on your victory over the dragons.

    In my case, as you see, I am still writing, and it is even fun again. But the Dragon of Dragon NaturallySpeaking required protection money. This time, it was a new mic and another GB of memory. All the animals in my house are expensive. You would think the Dragon was diabetic.

Comments are closed.