Skip to content

Did WaMu Scam-U? Chase them down!

August 18, 2009

Until now, I have gone through life without suing anyone, so it only makes sense that I should cut my deciduous litigation teeth by suing JP Morgan-Chase. I sued Chase Bank because they reneged on a promotional deal, but worse, in offering the promotion under the banner of a “Dear Neighbor” invitation, they insulted my entire neighborhood.

I prevailed in my lawsuit, and secured a judgment against Chase for more than eighteen times the amount they would have spent simply keeping their promise. The court awarded me triple damages under the Washington State Consumer Protection Act, as well as court costs and attorney fees.

Because the dear-neighbor bank blew me off when I asked a representative when they planned to make good on their offer, I consider that I have won a victory against both perfidy and arrogance.

Chase Bank, a.k.a. JP Morgan-Chase, the erstwhile WaMu, brandishes a billboard in my town telling us they are new to Washington, but not new to banking. True: Chase set out to do business in Washington with no knowledge of Washington state law, and no manifest regard for Washington state residents. My attorney dealt with a claims representative in California who routinely lost entire batches of e-mails, got sick, was unresponsive, and generally demonstrated a fairly appalling, but alas not extremely atypical, institutional malaise.

And malaise is certainly what we can expect, given the digestive demands of a tubfull of bailout bucks.

2 Comments
  1. Laura K permalink
    August 18, 2009 6:13 pm

    Go Lauren! Stick it to ’em! And very nice puns, to top it all off.

  2. August 19, 2009 8:32 am

    I am glad for you. We quit our account with them for several reasons. They are terrible!

Comments are closed.