Skip to content

Out of the O-zone

November 5, 2009

I’m so embarrassed about this that the only thing I can do is blog about it. I don’t mind being self-deprecating. I don’t even mind being culturally illiterate. But I have found my highest level of incompetence in a very unexpected area. I cannot find out how to watch Oprah.

This seems to be a peculiar pocket of incompetence. Generally, I think I’m a pretty good online researcher. I always had a knack for legal research. I have found people who seemed fairly tucked away: my niece in an ashram, an acquaintance of nearly 40 years ago in an online church newsletter birthday list, and other people I have turned up in newspaper archives, for instance. But when I wanted to find out whether there would be an Internet webcast of the great Oprah-Palin interview, I encountered total blackout.

We don’t have a TV, and I have no idea what stations air on what channels in my area, or what station airs Oprah. My computer came with an antenna, but I would have no idea how to tune in Planet Earth’s number one program. All this is notwithstanding my pastor’s recent admonition to the ladies of the congregation that watching Oprah does not count as a hobby. I daresay.

I went to Oprah’s website and Sarah Palin’s website and turned up no clue as to whether there would be a webcast on November 16. I fruitlessly searched various news agencies. I would not insult any of my friends by imputing to them the desire to watch this program, so I would not ask to watch it with them. However, I do have a neighbor who styles herself as “ga-looed to the television” whenever anything is coming down. This would include major events from tomorrow’s weather forecast to the assassination of President Kennedy.

Okay, so I don’t know how to watch Oprah. We all have our spheres of incompetence. I can always catch the spin after the fact. By today’s reckoning, that’s probably the height of cultural literacy. As I said, I’m so embarrassed about this.

2 Comments
  1. Vic permalink
    November 5, 2009 8:49 am

    It’s not so much incompetence as sphere disconnect. Jupiter, I’m sure, is very important to Ganymede. But I bet Titan couldn’t care less.

    I understand that such things show up on YouTube about 2 minutes after they happen. Then they get taken down for copyright infringement. Then they get put up again.

    I imagine there will be plenty of opportunity to see it without having to find the most important TV program in the Solar System.

  2. November 5, 2009 9:02 am

    I think I identify more with Titan. I think the proper response is that it’s appropriate to trivialize the trivial.

Comments are closed.