Skip to content

The Frittata Chronicles

November 13, 2009

I would consider it perfectly reasonable if a reader wanted simply to proceed directly to the frittata recipe: just scroll down till you see bold type. For those more interested in the framework in which a frittata is created at my house, I have provided some context.

It was a bright and stormy day. For a long time I have washed towels on Friday; and in this way alone, this particular Friday was unexceptional.

I brought a thermos of coffee to a friend and visited with her for a little while at her workplace before she began her shift. The coffee cheered her, but she is always cheerful, and she greeted and encouraged her coworkers as we walked about. Some hard things were coming up for her, but her sanguinity and gratitude for God’s uplifting help evidence a great portion of spiritual grace. I cannot even imagine the strength she has to live her life, and yet she considers me some kind of stanchion. The bond of Christ among his people is as mysterious, and yet at the same time, as effable, as the hypostatic union of the Trinity.

From my friend’s workplace, I went to a nearby health food store to get a tin of Tiger Balm and some tea. A pleasant man named Abdullah was hawking a line of organic cosmetics. I took a smidge from the eye cream tester, because the texture of the skin beneath my eyes resembles an orange peel. The product was too expensive for me to consider, and seemed no better than Burt’s Bees, and happily, I was rescued from engaging with Abdullah by the sudden appearance of someone calling his name, recognizing him as a colleague of twenty-some years ago. It seemed a good day for friends meeting friends at work.

At home, I made some ginger peach tea and went through the mail. My husband happens to be working on a case in which a Ford truck spontaneously combusted while quietly parked in its garage. In Friday’s mail was something from Ford. The recall notice, for that is what it was, included this charming prospect:

“Ford cannot be confident that over many years in service, a speed control deactivation switch installed on your vehicle will not leak brake fluid, posing the risk of a fire. This condition may occur even when the vehicle is parked or when it is being operated. This risk exists on vehicles equipped with or without speed control.”

It also says,

“Until you have the recall service performed, park your vehicle outdoors away from structures to prevent a potential fire from spreading.”


It is amazing how you can just go through life as if nothing is wrong, when your husband’s 2001 Ford pickup is sitting quietly in your driveway every night, just waiting to spontaneously combust and take your adjacent Audi with it, and probably your house and you and your husband and Cat, too.

My husband will disconnect the sinister, scheming vehicle’s battery while said vehicle is in our driveway to belay any combustion attempts on the part of said vehicle until the recall service is performed next week.

A cup of tea later, I was reading a portion of John Murray’s Principles of Conduct, in the chapter on the dynamic of the biblical ethic. I was trying to get my mind around Paul’s use of “the Spirit of Christ” as a hypostasis, and decided to start making a frittata for dinner. I made one last night, and my husband loved it. And here is my recipe, with a brief foreword.

Frittata is Italian for omelette. I have no idea why so many recipes call for baking or broiling a frittata. I find it simplest to cook it in a skillet on the stove. I was telling a friend today how much I missed the fabulous artichoke frittatas I used to get at C&M Deli in La Jolla during my otherwise unexciting junior high and high school years. She asked for my recipe and I sent it to her, but I forgot to mention the cheese. Do remember the cheese.

Frittata

You can use any vegetables, meats, or cheeses you like or happen to have on hand. I am simply relaying what I use because I almost always have these things on hand and we like them. This recipe serves 2 if you are having nothing else, and probably 4-6 as a side dish. I honestly cannot imagine what else you could need.

2 small zucchini
1/4 of a medium onion
4 eggs
3 tablespoons canned pumpkin
3 tablespoons crumbled Gorgonzola cheese
1/4 cup sliced cooked turkey or chicken
1/2 teaspoon each of garlic salt, oregano, and paprika (Italian colors!)
2 tablespoons cooking oil, preferably olive

Slice zucchini and onions in a food processor, or very thin. Heat about two tablespoons of olive oil in a non-stick skillet and briefly sauté zucchini and onions. Cover and let cook until tender. While this is cooking, beat the eggs; add pumpkin, cheese, meat, and seasonings. When zucchini is tender, pour egg mixture over it and spread evenly. Cover and cook on low heat about 15 minutes or until it seems dry enough to remove without making a huge mess.

Comments are closed.