Skip to content

HA injections, Part 2: Reality and euphoria both are good and necessary spheres

January 5, 2010

Well, okay, my 10-minute walk around the block hurt as much as it would have before yesterday’s hyaluronic acid injection. My knees are back to their original pouty selves. They hate cold and pavement all over again, and they communicate their disdain with the familiar grinding pain.

But I’ve had only the first one of a series of three injections, and I remain hopeful that the other two will fill in the cartilage gap and I will experience more enduring improvement. Besides, occasional euphoria is a good thing . Maybe it produces some sort of catecholamines that chemically trigger hope. Anyway, there is no promise that knees spring eternal. Certainly I am no worse off than I was.

And now I’m going to bury myself in tea and Korean.

4 Comments
  1. Vic permalink
    January 5, 2010 12:43 pm

    Ah, catecholamines. Those interesting chemicals that allow us fight, fly, or hide. I hope they trigger physical regeneration too.

    Slow and steady, I think. The cure comes from gradual healing rather than short-term cushioning.

  2. January 5, 2010 12:51 pm

    Catecholamines produce norepinephrine, but also dopamine, which ought to cause some transitory euphoria. Hyaluronic acid does not in itself have anything to do with catecholamines that I know of, but the sense of such incredible lightness of kneeing certainly promoted a sense of euphoria. Unfortunately, pavement is fairly immutable and ungiving, and my knees are very new at healing. Thanks for reminding me that that is what is supposed to be going on. :-)

  3. Heidi permalink
    January 6, 2010 5:32 am

    I’m eager to hear how the long term healing progresses, Lauren. It is nice that there was a few hours’ relief, and I pray that gradually the injections will give you much more of that.

    And I loved your post about entropy being the cargo of your ship :-). It’s too wonderful both as a review of household products and a statement about breach of expectation. And I’m buying stock in the pharmaceutical company (I always take the investment advice I read on the blogosphere very seriously). And I’m *loving* my beautiful lightweight green pan which cooks things so perfectly (I imagine you know, that it cooks things much more nicely than my other pans — does it, O Empirically Verifiable One?)

  4. January 6, 2010 7:09 am

    Forget the drug companies Heidi. Invest in Korea and anything and everything Korean. Your heard it here first.

Comments are closed.