Skip to content

Next fire bath

August 25, 2010

Brethren, pray for us. The presumptive buyers of our home have engaged a very comprehensive inspection, to take place Friday morning, for three hours. I have never heard of a home inspection taking this long, but all the rules I have known have changed. The realtors and buyers preferred that we and the Cat vacate, but we will not be doing that. I cannot simply be out and about without purpose for three hours, or even with purpose for three hours, much less with our poor Cat, who must be scheming his just revenge for all the stress he has been made to endure thus far. So we will be staying home, out of the way, while the inspector inspects, and the couple buying our home, their realtor, and their parents, assume their position as rightful owners-in-waiting.

When I have been a buyer, I have been told the seller got to choose the title company. When I have been a seller, I have been told the buyer gets to choose the title company. It’s just never my turn to choose the title company. I honestly have no preference in the world about title companies — how could I, when I have simply paid for or received title policies for or from whoever the other party chose? When I was a buyer, sellers were frequently at home during showings. As sellers, we are expected to vacate our home. I guess we don’t show well.

When I was a buyer, the seller always occupied the exalted pedestal. As a seller, I am subpeditated. Somehow, no matter what my role in these things, I’m always the vanquished species. That is what I mean by, the rules are always changing. It’s the way of the world, it’s the way of the market.

And so I press on, and cheerfully enter each hoop of fire, because that is the way real estate now changes hands; and for that matter, that is the way of a peaceable transaction. And far more importantly, that is the way I am called to walk in coram Deo.

2 Comments
  1. judy permalink
    August 25, 2010 8:20 pm

    Hi Lauren: guess where I am? just a few miles from Clarkston.
    What a beautiful place you are moving to. I am really enjoying my visit here,
    and glad that your blog got much easier to keep up with. I love how things are just
    sent to my email. You write so beautifully!
    Those buyers just don’t realize how well Vic and you take care of things. Won’t they
    be pleasantly surprised.
    love, judy

  2. August 26, 2010 8:49 am

    Judy, look at you! This is such a perfect season for a road trip out that way. Harvest is over, and the dust should be down. You can see why Vic and I fell for the Palouse on our honeymoon.

Comments are closed.